Sample Topics
Please note that all the topics listed below pertain to South Africa unless otherwise stated.
Farm Workers
Labor Law
Rural Working Conditions
Rural Housing
Land Reform
Housing
Education
Agriculture
Municipal Affairs
Afrikaans Language & Literature
Afrikaans Culture
South African Literature in English
Black South African Auithors
Literary Manuscript Collections
Research Reports
Legal Abbreviations
Government Publications
Maps
Management
South African Studies
- Centre for Rural Legal StudiesSubject coverage includes issues relating to agriculture and farm workers in South Africa and elsewhere. It concentrates on labor law and relations, working conditions, housing/tenure and socio-economic conditions. Issues such as land reform, rural local governement and gender are also covered.
The databases listed below are all part of the South African Studies cluster of databases in Africa-Wide Information. Since they cannot be individually hyperlinked, you may click here to go to the Africa-Wide Information search page. Also please note that information for the annotations below has been acquired from the NISC website.
- Index to South African Periodicals (ISAP) byThis database covers the period from 1984 to the present and includes over 440,000 records from more than 440 South African periodicals. Topics covered include scientific and technical articles, law, education, agriculture and municipal affairs. Academic and popular magazines, reviews and foreign journals covering South African affairs are all included. For a slide show offering instructions for searching ISAP, go to http://www.ais.up.ac.za/edu/research/isap_files/frame.htm#slide0001.htm.
- KNIPCAT byThis database includes press cuttings from newspapers and magazines relating to the Afrikaans language, literature and culture with information about writers of the Afrikaans language. Provides over 60,000 records, computerized since 1994. Provides a bibliography of books, plays, poetry, manuscripts and sheet music relating to Afrikaans culture.
- Select Index to South African Literature in English, Creative Writings byOver 140,000 records include books, short stories, poems, plays, essays, autobiographies, and travel literature.
- Select Index to South African Literature in English, Critical Writings byOver 32,000 records appearing in journals, books, theses, dissertations, biographies, bibliographies, and book reviews that pertain to literary criticism.
- Literary Awards byOver 1,725 records offer information on context rules, prizes, winners, and judges for 280 South African contests and non-South African contests open to South African entrants.
- Literature and Literary Criticism by Black South Africans byA listing of all the creative literature and works of literary criticism published by South Africans of color between the years of 1800 and 1990. The list includes only the first known instance of the publication of any such work. The NELM holds a copy of each of the items listed.
- NELM Main Catalog byOver 18,500 records comprise a bibliographic series on the more well-known South African authors.
- NELM Manuscripts byOver 35,000 records documenting the NELM manuscript holdings, including literary manuscripts, letters, and record interviews. Major collections include: Guy Butler, Hjalmar Thesen, Jack Cope, Dennis Brutus, Eric Pringle, F. T. Prince, Sydney Clouts, Elias Pater, Yvonne Burgess, Sarah Gertrude Millin, Marguerite Poland, Douglas Reid Skinner, Olive Bridgman, James Ambrose Brown, Frank Brownlee, Stuart Cloete, Athol Fugard, and others.
- NEXUS (Database of Current and Completed Research in South Africa) byThis database provides information on approximately 130,000 current and completed South African research projects, including theses and dissertations. This source provides information on all fields of science since 1900. Abstracts are included for completed projects.
- Political Information and Monitoring Service (PIMS) byOffers summaries and key details to the bills, acts and amendments of the South African Parliament.
- South African Legal Abbreviations byThis collection is useful since there is no standardization with respect to abbreviations used in South ASfrican law. Legal writing is characterized by frequent use of abbreviations and acronyms, with the result that writers often assume that the reader is familiar with them.
- South African National Bibliography byA comprehensive record of publishing in South Africa covering the period from 1988 to the present. It includes over 80,000 records covering monographs, pamphlets, government publications, maps, microforms, periodicals, newspapers and CD-ROMS in the eleven official languages of South Africa.
- WITS MBA (Witwatersrand University Management Research Reports byContains over 1,700 records on management in South Africa covering the years from 1970 to the present.
Subject Guide
Jon Giullian
Contact:
International Collections
Watson Library - Level 5 East
University of Kansas
1425 Jayhawk Blvd, Rm 519
Lawrence, KS 66045
Watson Library - Level 5 East
University of Kansas
1425 Jayhawk Blvd, Rm 519
Lawrence, KS 66045
(785) 864-8854