Africa-Wide Information (formerly, Africa-Wide NIPAD): African Studies (General)

A bookdealer located in the UK that offers newly published monographs from and about Africa as well as titles published elsewhere. Email access to the various issues of their catalogue of current publications is available on request. See their website at Africabookcentre.com

Subject coverage includes political, socio-economic, international, and development issues facing contemporary Africa. Published by the Africa Institute in Pretoria, South Africa.

This database contains literature on modern Africa and covers the entire content with emphasis on contemporary history, politics, education, economics and other social sciences and African fiction. Language coverage is English, French, German, Portuguese, and the Nordic languages, with the use of English terms for indexing.

Provides information about books available from and distributed by the African Books Collective, all issued by African publishers. For more information on ABC, see their website at africanbookscollective.com. ABC is a major vendor for the supply of African imprints.

Compiled by NISC in South Africa, this database covers current literature on economics, socio-economics, water science and technology, agriculture, fisheries, and science and technology. Formats include journal articles, revies and news items from journals and magazines, with some coverage of monographs and reports.

The world's largest online collection of African scholarly journals, currently available as a separate entry in the KU online catalog A-Z database list.

Same database as African Studies Abstracts, published by the African Studies Center in Leiden, Netheerlands. Separately listed on the KU online catalog A-Z database list.

Offers comprehensive current and historical coveragde of all publications on Afri-tropical birds. The database includes over 78,000 records.

An online edition of the printed volume with the same title, published by Lynne Reinner in 1994, and available in Watson Library Reference.

Includes David Don's original collection of documents donated to the Library in 1916. It has been updated constantly since then and relates to Africa south of the Sahara. Subjects covered include African religon, archaeology, art, economics, education, exploration, flora and fauna, geography, history, law, literature, missionary accounts, and politics.

This database is compiled by a group of contributors in 19 countries, wth 54 input centers in Africa, Europe, and Canada. It contains development-related information on Francophone Africa. Subjects covered include agriculture, health, economics, transport, environment, and society. IBISCUS, no longer in operation, was a private, non-profit organization supervised by the French Ministry of Development Cooperation.

This database includes a wide range of published works and an extensive manuscript collection dealing with southern Africa in general and the Kwa-Zulu Natal Region in particular. Subjects covered include politics, cultural anthropology, African art and 19th and 20th century history. The collection includes important published accounts left by 18th and 19th century explorers and travelers in Africa, as well as Zulu dictionaries, grammar books and published works by early Zulu writers. Highlights include early South African English literature, the James Stuart Papers, the Bourquin Papers, and accounts and diaries of the Anglo-Zulu War.

Material in this database is provided by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), a US government agency. Analyses from FBIS' domestic and overseas bureaus have monitored timely and important open-source materials, including gray literature for over 60 years.

The National Library of Namibia compiles this database which includes a comprehensive bibliography of Namibia-related library materials both from Namibia and from sources published elsewhere.

Compiled by NISC in collaboration with the Naturalist Niche in Port Elizabeth. It includes some 56,000 records covering the period from 1960 and earlier to the present. It offers current and historical coverage of articles from natural history, zoology, botany, and museum journals published in Africa and relating to the continent.

Includes records for monographs, documents collected through the Internet, articles from periodicals and audio-visual materials which are part of the collection at the Institute Library. The collection deals with a wide range of issues relating to political and socio-economic developments in southern Africa and international relations with the region. Most of the sources date from 1999 to the present.

Coverage includes political, economic and social research in the SADC region with emphasis on leaders, conflict and conflict resolution, reform, development and foreign relations.

One of the largest and most significant library collections of Africana in the world. The database covers the continent of Africa, in European and African languages. Topics range from art and architecture, social and political sciences, and economics and law. It also includes the complete list of SOAS serial holdings.

This database is a bibliographic listing of Swiss doctoral dissertations on Sub-Saharan Africa.