Hausa Language and Literature: Bibliographies

African Studies academic resources provided by Center for African Area Studies, Kyoto University, Japan.

This extensive list of Hausa literary, linguistic, and pedagogical resources "represents the highlights from the last fifty years of library acquisitions at Columbia University. Titles in English and French listed here deal primarily with aspects of Hausa language, literature, history, and culture."--Description from Columbia University Libraries website.

"The Online Bibliography of Chadic and Hausa Linguistics (OBCHL), henceforth the ‘biblio’, is an updated, expanded, and corrected edition of the bibliography published some fifteen years ago by Rüdiger Köppe Verlag (Newman 1996). The ensuing years have witnessed an outpouring of new publications on Chadic and Hausa, written by scholars from around the globe, thereby creating the need for a new, up-to-date bibliography. Data gathered for this online edition, which was compiled using EndNote, an excellent and easy to use bibliographic database program, have come from my own library and internet searches as well as from a variety of published sources. Particularly valuable have been the reviews of the earlier bibliography, most notably the detailed review article by Baldi (1997), the Hausa and Chadic entries in the annual Bibliographie Linguistique, compiled over the past dozen years by Dr. Joe McIntyre, and the very useful list of publications found regularly in Méga-Tchad."--Website description.

A rapidly-growing reposistory of reearch materials published with full text availability for works in the public domain (i.e., publ. prior to 1923 or government imprints). Listed below are examples of historical texts on the Hausa language included in this collection, all available in fulltext.
---Dictionary of the Hausa language / Charles Henry Robinson (publ. 1913) v. 1-2
---Dictionary of the Hausa language, with appendices of Hausa literature / James Frederick Schhon (publ. 1876)
---Grammar of the Hausa language / James Frederick Schon (publ. 1862)
---Hausa proverbs / Gordon Charleton Marrick (publ. 1908)

Includes many sources for the study of Hausa language and culture, including dictionaries, grammars, lesson plans, Hausa literary texts, and other genre.

"This volume is a bibliography of linguistic essays and monographs on Hausa and other languages of the Chadic family. Hausa is spoken as a first or second language by approximately forty to fifty million people in Nigeria, Niger, northern Ghana, northern Togo, and in the Blue Nile area of the Sudan...the present bibliography has been arranged into two autonomous sections, one on Hausa and one on all the other Chadic languages" -- Amazon.com

An extensively updated pdf version of this resource is available here

An annotated bibliography of major literary works on Hausa language.

Still useful for its listing of historical sources, with notes, but rendered out of date by the many publications appearing over the past several decades.

Includes approximately 350 Hausa texts included in the SOAS Africana collectionl. See pages 74 - 87.

Includes more than 1,100 Hausa texts included in this extensive collection at the Melville J. Herskovits Library. See Vol. 1, pages 113 - 193.

Includes bibliographical references