Nature photography and more
Where the ANDES meet the AMAZON - Peru & Bolivia's Bahuaja Sonene & Madidi National Parks by ISBN: 8489119147Not available at KU.
- Photo Gallery - Andre Baertschi
Swiss photographer Andre Baertschi specializes in the natural history of tropical forests. He spends part of the year in some of the remotest places of the New World tropics. His work has been published world-wide in renowned magazines such as GEO, BBC Wildlife, International Wildlife, Natural History, Smithsonian and National Geographic and in numerous nature books.
Peru's Amazonian Eden: Manu National Park and Biosphere Reserve by ISBN: 8489119120Not available at KU.
Additional slide shows
- Photos by Wade DavisPhotos of Peru by renowned anthropologist, author and explorer Wade Davis.
- The Amazon, Through an Anthropologist’s EyeNew York Times, Lens - Photography, Video, and Visual Journalism - August 30, 2013
Archived Peruvian photos
- Peru Botany Expeditions - The Field Museum LibraryField Museum botanist J. Francis MacBride participated in two specimen-gathering expeditions to Peru in 1922 and 1923.
Peruvian films available at Watson Library
Alpaqueros de Chimboya = Alpaca breeders of Chimboya by Call Number: Watson Library - Video Collection (3rd Floor) DVD
Fire in the Andes by Call Number: Watson Library - Video Collection (3rd Floor) DVD
Muralla verde = The green wall by Call Number: Watson Library - Video Collection
El santo de la espada by Call Number: Watson Library - Video Collection (3rd Floor) DVD- Ojos que sí ven: el cine de Lombardi = Within sight byCall Number: Watson Library - Video CollectionPublication Date: 2003
Recommended
Amazon Watch - DVD
Call Number: DVDDVD - Burlington Resources in Ecuador documents the frustrated attempts of Burlington Resources from Houston, Texas, trying to drill in the Amazon rainforest of Ecuador, the destruction of resources in the attempt, and the fierce resistence of the native tribes. ChevronTexaco on trial in Ecuador documents the cancer and death from pollution and oil spills and the destruction of the Amazon rainforest area in Ecuador by ChevronTexaco. Peru’s Camisea Project, risky business documents the resistance of the indiginous natives to the destruction caused by invasive oil production in the biodiverse rainforest area of Camisea, lower Urubamba River in Peru.
Fitzcarraldo (Motion picture) by
Call Number: DVDWatson Library - Video Collection (3rd Floor)
Story of a man obsessed with a dream to build his own personal opera house in a remote Peruvian town. Originally released as a motion picture in 1982. In German with optional soundtrack in English and optional subtitles in English. Special features include: audio commentary with director Werner Herzog and producer Lucki Stipetic; theatrical trailer; still gallery; talent bios.
See below for information about book.
Peruvian Films at EGARC - KU language resource center
KU Ermal Garinger Academic Resource Center (EGARC)
The Center houses a collection of approximately 12,000 audio and video items in over 60 languages. Located on the fourth floor of Wescoe Hall. The main office is in room 4070.
Search the EGARC Catalog with the keyword "Peru" or "Amazon", etc. to find numerous DVD and VHS selections with movies.
Sample FILM titles:
- Documentales del PeruDVD. A tour through Peru and its architectural sites.
- Villa el SalvadorVHS. Tells the remarkable story of Peru's Villa El Salvador, one of Latin America 's best organized squatter settlements, with 300,000 inhabitants, dozens of schools, markets, and recreation areas.
- Metal and MelancholyVHS. Metal and Melancholy is an unusual road-movie in documentary form. A journey through the art of survival with taxi-drivers of Lima, Peru:
Film Databases
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowA streaming video on-demand service which provides access to educational films.
- Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new windowThis aggregated database provides access to all of KU’s Alexander Street Press collections. Video, audio, and text covering a wide variety of subject matters are included. In addition to contemporary sources, this database contains significant amounts of primary sources.
- Films on demand This link opens in a new windowThis web-based digital video delivery service allows users to view streaming videos from Films Media Group 24/7. Choose from more than 5,500 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, personalize folders and manage their entire collection through an administrative reporting system.
- Screen Studies Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides access to three databases--the catalogs of the American Film Institute (AFI Catalog), and the British Film Institute (Film Index International), and the FIAF international index to film periodicals plus databases.
- PBS Video Collection (5th Edition) This link opens in a new windowContains hundreds of PBS's most popular documentaries and series in streaming video.
- Digitalia Film Library This link opens in a new windowDigitalia Film Library has over 800 quality documentaries and films distributed in the following collections: Argentine Cinema, European Cinema, French Collection, History, Latin American Selection, Nature and Wildlife, North American Classic Cinema, Spanish Cinema, Cuban Cinema and Travel Documentary.
