How to Search HathiTrust
HathiTrust items can be searched either in the libraries catalog or directly at HathiTrust website using either full text or a catalog searches. It is recommended that you use a HathiTrust catalog search for descriptive information only, such as author or title. Use the Hathi full-text search for descriptive information or full-text that occurs in a work, such as a name, place, citation, or favorite quote.
When you click the Full view only option, you search will include only items that have full-text available to print/download. Other resources for searching and embedding search widget can be found at the links below. You can also search HathiTrust content from libraries website (see Library Search - "What Am I Searching" at bottom of page)
Libraries Search
What Am I Searching?
Search resources from a number of different sources, including:
- Everything from the KU Libraries Catalog: more than 4 million books, ebooks, videos, sound recordings, manuscripts, and more
- Full-text articles from scholarly journals.
- Unique KU digital collections, Open Access research from KU ScholarWorks, and more
Quick Full Text Search
This is a search of a word or term that occurs within the text of items across the entire HathiTrust repository. Also known as large scale search. Click the "Full View only" box in the search below to include only items that have full-text available to print/download. See also additional Advanced Search options.
Quick Catalog Search
This is a search across the bibliographic data associated with the items within the HathiTrust repository. Click the "Full View only" box in the search below to include only items that have full-text available to print/download. See also additional Advanced Search options.