How to Select and Use Citation Management Tools: Citation Generators

These free, online citation generators allow you to input resource information from a journal article, book, web page, etc. and then create a citation and bibliography that you can copy and paste into your paper.

BibME

• Creates citations and bibliographic references for MLA, APA, Turabian, and Chicago styles that you can copy and paste into your paper.
• Look up feature allows you to look up your reference (e.g. by URL, title, ISBN, etc.) and automatically convert into a citation and bibliographic reference.
• Allows you to create a free account and save you references for future use.

Citation Machine

• Creates citations and bibliographic references for MLA, APA, Turabian, and Chicago styles that you can copy and paste into your paper.
• Has an ISBN look up option for APA and MLA styles.

EasyBib

• Creates citations and bibliographic references for MLA, APA, Turabian, and Chicago styles that you can copy and paste into your paper.
• Look up feature allows you to look up your reference (e.g. by URL, title, ISBN, etc.) and automatically convert into a citation and bibliographic reference.

KniteCite

• Creates citations and bibliographic references for MLA, APA, Turabian, and Chicago styles that you can copy and paste into your paper.
• Multiple formats available.

Using the Citation Tools in Microsoft Word

• Many versions of Microsoft Word also have easy-to-use citation tools.
• Citation styles include APA, Chicago, Harvard, IEEE, MLA, Turabian, GB7714, GOST, ISO and SIST02.

ZoteroBib

• Web-based citation generator that works similar to the Zotero program itself.
• Creates citations and bibliographic references for 10,000+ citation styles that you can copy and paste into your paper.
• Look up feature allows you to look up your reference (e.g. by URL, title, ISBN, etc.) and automatically convert into a citation and bibliographic reference.
• Allows you to create a free account and save you references for future use.