Location: Room 210, Watson Library
Phone: (785) 864-3078
This is the library department that acquires library materials in all formats,handles licensing for electronic resources, and answers questions directed to the firstname.lastname@example.org service. Call 4-3078 before sending anyone to this location; use the same number to transfer calls.
Location: Marvin Hall, Rooms 405 and 407
Phone: (785) 864-3027
The Architectural Resource Center (ARC) is part of the School of Architecture, Design and Planning (SADP) and serves the students, faculty, and staff of SADP. ARC includes the Architectural Slide Library and the Hatch Architectural Reading Room. The Slide Library has more than 85,000 35mm slides to provide instructional and research suport. The Reading Room has a non-circulating collection of books, magazine subscriptions, and a few maps.
To access the Hatch Architectural Reading Room's catalog: From our Library Catalog, click Other Catalogs button; from Libraries at KU dropdown, select Hatch Reading Room - Architectural Resource Center. Or use the link below.
Location: Room 121W, Watson Library
Phone: (785) 864-3247 or (785) 864-3765
Call either number listed above before sending anyone to this location.
Campus Mail handles the delivery of internal campus communications to Lawrence campus buildings. That includes the delivery of items requested via the TripSaver service for faculty and staff with Lawrence campus offices.
Location: Rooms 201 and 240, Watson Library
Call the individual requested using the paper staff directory at your service desk or consult the Cataloging Dept. staff directory using the link below before sending anyone to this location.
This is the library department that creates, updates, and maintains the records in the Library Catalog and maintains the workflow to prepare library materials for shelving in the Library Annex.
Location: Watson Library, Room 450
Phone: (785) 864-0330
Open to walk-in visitors 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. Interested individuals may call or email to schedule an appointment.
CDS "supports KU's evolving research environment with expertise and tools for creating and using digital scholarship to enhance research, teaching, and learning at the University of Kansas."
Location: Watson Library, Room 470
Phone: (785) 864-3353
CRMDA, a division of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, trains students in "state-of-the-science methodology and data analysis," and provides "best practice support to students, staff, and faculty in the conduct of their research."
Location: 2100 West 39th Avenue, Kansas City, KS 66103
Dykes Library is located on the north side of 39th Avenue between Rainbow Boulevard and State Line Road.
Phone: (913) 588-7166; dial 6-7166 from Lawrence and Edwards campus phones; (800) 323-4193 (toll free)
Dykes Library provides health information for the University of Kansas Medical Center and throughout the state of Kansas. KU students, faculty, and staff may request available items from Dykes Library by entering requests in WebRetrieve. Lawrence and Edwards campus students, faculty, and staff may also use Dykes Library in person and should take their KU Cards along if they plan to check out circulating materials.
Location: Wescoe Hall, 1445 Jayhawk Boulevard, Room 4070
Phone: (785) 864-4759
EGARC "promote[s] the learning and teaching of languages, culture, and humanities at the University of Kansas through the use of technology and other media." EGARC checks out audio and video items and portable equipment. They have computer labs, a media-enhanced conference room, a recording sudio, and a small group meeting area.
KU Dining Services maintain Hawk Food Shop locations in Spahr Engineering Library and in Watson Library. The food service location in Anschutz Library is called the iQ Café. Use the link below to see hours of opening.
The KU Writing Center is available to help students with one-on-one consultations and in the classroom to understand and practice writing in all subjects, and to help instructors through classroom visits and assistance with teaching resources. The service locations are called the KU Writer's Roost.
Primary location: Anschutz Library, Room 424
Phone: (785) 864-2399
Hours during fall and spring semester: 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday-Thursday; 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m., Friday; not staffed Saturday; 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m., Sunday. Not staffed when classes not in session or when Anschutz Library is closed.
Second location: Watson Library, 3rd floor Bay Area
During fall and spring semester: open to all writers from 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m., Sunday through Thursday. Also open by appointment for graduate students from 9:00 a.m. to 12 noon, Monday through Friday. Go to Writing Center website to schedule an appointment.
Location: Joseph R. Pearson Hall, Room 110
1122 West Campus Road, Lawrence, KS 66045
Phone: (785) 864-3464
The LRC is part of the KU School of Education (SOE) and provides services primarily for the SOE with a general collection of educational materials, textbooks for lesson planning, some journals, along with computer labs and technical help.
To access the LRC Catalog: From our Library Catalog, click Other Catalogs button; from Libraries at KU dropdown, select Learning Resource Center - KU School of Education. Click Connect.
Note: This is not a return location for KU Libraries circulating materials; please do not encourage library users to return our materials to the LRC.
Location: Watson Library, Room 502
Phone: (785) 864-3601
Fax: (785) 864-5311
Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday on days Watson Library is open.
Most of the Libraries' administrative staff is located here including the Dean of Libraries, Lorraine Haricombe.
The Watson 503A and Watson 503B conference/meeting rooms are also located here.
The Library Annex is a high-density storage facility for low-use library materials that currently houses about 1.6 million volumes. The Library Annex is not open to the public, except by appointment. KU students, faculty, staff, and affiliates, and resident and reciprocal borrowers may request that circulating Annex items be retrieved and delviered to any Lawrence or Edwards campus library. Most items may be checked out by anyone with a valid KU Card or KU Library Borrower Card. Some items are available for in-library-only use.
Library materials in the Annex may be identified by the location reported in the Library Catalog. For most items, the location will read "Valid KU borrowers - click on Recall/Request button - Annex W." From the Recalls & Requests button, select Retrieve from Shelf to enter requests for needed items.
When the location reads "_Request through any Service Desk (Library Annex)," ask the patron to complete a green card (KU Libraries User Request Form) to be forwarded to the ILL Lending unit. In general, these items are non-circulating and ILL will work out arrangements for the requestor to have access.
Occasionally, the location will refer the requestor to a specific service desk to make arrangements for use of the item. For example, with "_Contact Music Library Service Desk-(Library Annex)," refer the patron to the Music & Dance Library for assistance.
It is our intent to make library materials housed in the Library Annex available to all users, whether they have a KU Card or a KU Library Borrower Card or not. Consult with your local circulation supervisors for how to help a non-KU person without a borrower card (does not qualify for a card or does not want to purchase one) who needs to use Annex materials.
Location: Watson Library, Room 121
Phone: (785) 864-3080
Call 4-3080 before sending anyone there who is not a library employee.
These are the folks who deliver all of the library materials routing from one library to another, bring us our printer paper, and more.
Location: Smith Hall, Room 109
Left at main entrance, another left before stairs
Phone: (785) 864-4663
To access their catalog: From our Library Catalog, click Other Catalogs button; from Libraries at KU dropdown, select Moore Reading Room, then click Connect. Or use the link below.
This reading room is maintained and serviced by the Department of Religous Studies. The hours are 9:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday; closed Saturday and Sunday. Open 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, when classes are not in session.
Newly received book collections are displayed in the Anschutz, Art & Architecture, Music & Dance, Spahr Engineering, and Watson Libraries. Art & Architecture also displays new periodical issues, and Music & Dance displays new scores.
To review recently received library materials via the Library Catalog, click the Catalog: books & more link in the left navigation panel of the Libraries' website, then click the New Items tab. New catalog records for up to the most recent four weeks of additions will be displayed. Be aware that this list may also include older items for which new records have been recently added.
Location: Watson Library, Rooms 134 and 135
Conservation: (785) 864-3429
Bindery Unit: (785) 864-3753
Preservation consists of the Conservation Unit with its Stannard Conservation Lab and the Bindery Unit. Together they promote long-term access to library collections through the use of treatment, rebinding, and reformatting, and educate library staff, library users, and the general public to help preserve library materials.
Visitors are welcome; be sure to call before sending guests to this location in order to be certain library staff are avaialble.
Important reminder: please note that we do not send library users to this department to ask about library materials that are checked out to the bindery or have the At Bindery status displayed in the Library Catalog or in Voyager circulation item records. Patron inquiries for these materials are handled through standard request processes including Recalls, KU Libraries User Request Forms (green cards), or WebRetrieve.
Anschutz Library and Watson Library have Recreational Reading collections consisting of popular literary fiction, science fiction and fantasy, mystery, romance, biography, and non-fiction selections. The books have green spine and back cover lables that include the Library of Congress call numbers, and each book includes a 14-digit barcode label beginning with M9999. The books are shelved in each library adjacent to the service desks, and records for all Recreational Reading items are included in the Library Catalog.
This is a service paid for the KU Parents' Campaign, a fund raising effort by the KU Libraries and the KU Endownment Association.
Location: Green Hall, Room 200
1535 West 15th Street, Lawrence, KS 66045
Phone: (785) 864-3026 (Circulation); (785) 864-9250 (Reference)
The Wheat Law Library is part of the KU School of Law. It provides access to collections and services for Law School and University users, and for attorneys, judges, and the general public. Printed and electronic resources are available with emphasis on Kansas, national, and international legal information. Many of the resources are available for in library use only. The Law Library shares the Voyager library system and the Library Catalog with the KU Libraries. Their item barcodes begin with 31551. Examples of Library Catalog location names are: Law Library, Law Library Microforms, Law Library Reference, Law Library Reserve.
Voyager patron types include: Law Review Student, Law School Student, Law School Faculty, Law Only Borrower. Patron barcodes that begin with 21551 and most personal name patron barcodes were assigned by the Law Library. The Law Library accepts the KU Library Borrower Card; note that the loan periods for circulating materials are shorter than most.