Collections: Printed and electronic resources in general interest, philosophy, religion, history, journalism, language, literature, sociology, social welfare, urban planning, and more. Many of the collections in support of the International Area Studies programs are shelved here: African Studies, East Asian Library, Slavic & Eurasian Studies, and the Department for Spain, Portugal & Latin America.
Call numbers (always check the Library Catalog to confirm shelving locations): Library of Congress: A; B; C; D; E; F; some G; H-HD, HK-HZ; J; P; some T; U; V; selected Z as subject appropriate. Local filing numbers such as MF, MR, MRN, MRP.
Catalog location names (examples only): Watson Library Stacks; East Asian Library (Watson 5th floor); Watson Library Microforms; Watson Library Periodicals - On level 2 East in Watson Stacks; Watson Library-Mixed Media (4th Floor); Watson Library-Reference (In Library Use Only); Watson Library-Reserve; Watson Library-Video Collection (4th Floor)
Services: Library faculty and staff provide a combination of user assistance, circulation, research help, instruction, and collection selection and management services. Accept and process applications for the KU Library Borrower Card and authenticate borrowers from KU Med and Haskell Indian Nations University for Lawrence/Edwards campus borrowing privileges.
Where to return library materials: Inside the library or to the outdoor return located near the front entrance to Watson Library.
Also in Watson Library: Acquisitons/Serials, Campus Mail, Cataloging, Center for Digital Scholarship (CDS), Center for Research Methods & Data Analysis (CRMDA), Circulation Business Office, Hawk Food Stop, International Area Studies, KU Writer's Roost, Library Administrative Office, Library Receiving (Mail Room & Delivery Services), Preservation (including the Stannard Conservation Lab), several library classrooms (Clark Instruction Center, Watson 419, Watson 302), and multiple meeting rooms (Watson 503A, Watson 503B, Watson 455, Watson 475, and Watson 302)
The Circulation Business Office (CBO) provides assistance to library users who have questions regarding circulation policies and procedures and who have incurred charges for items returned overdue or lost book charges for library materials not returned. The CBO handles the renewals for KU Library Borrower Cards between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. This office also works with the Libraries' circulation supervisors to interpret policies and procedures and to help them with their local library users who have incurred charges. The CBO also handles the "claims returned" searches for Watson collections and processes all of the "lost" items returned at Watson.
The Circulation Business Office is staffed 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday; closed Saturday, Sunday, days Watson Library is closed, and on the Friday after the Thanksgiving holiday.
For a complete list of reasons to refer library users to the Circulation Business Office, use the link below.
In partnership with the KU International Area Studies programs and language departments, the KU Libraries have a long history of collecting library materials in support of the teaching and research needs of the University. The areas of emphasis include Africa, East Asia, Latin America, Russia, and East Central Europe. Support is also provided for French, Italian, and German studies.
The International Area Studies Service Desk is staffed 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, while classes are in session; closed when Watson Library is closed. The International Area Studies Office is staffed 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, on days Watson Library is open.
The East Asian Library book stacks are open the same hours as Watson Library book stacks.
Resource Sharing, more commonly known as Interlibrary Loan, or ILL, connects KU students, faculty, and staff with library materials, either through delivery from KU's own library collections or by borrowing them from another library. In turn, ILL shares the KU Libraries' collections with other libraries in Kansas, the US, and around the world.
Services provided include:
ILL Borrowing - For items not available in the KU Libraries, use WebRetrieve to place requests for books, articles, book chapters, and other items. This unit works to find items from other libraries.
Document Delivery - Use WebRetrieve to request articles and book chapters from items available in the KU Libraries.
Retrieve from Shelf - Use the Library Catalog's Recalls & Requests button to ask that items be pulled from the shelf and made available for checkout at a KU Libraries service desk.
TripSaver - A service only for KU faculty and staff with Lawrence campus offices. Use the Library Catalog's Recalls & Requests button to ask that items be pulled from the shelf and delivered to the Lawrence campus office; select TripSaver as the "deliver to" location on the request form.
ILL Lending - A service for other libraries; this unit loans the KU circulating collections and provides photocopies to other libraries.
Use the Request Materials link in the left navigation list on the Libraries' home page to see Interlibrary Loan information, link to requests and services, and more.
1425 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence, KS 66045-7547
(785) 864-8983 (Circulation)
(785) 864-3347 (Research Help)
(785) 864-3956 (Information)
Fax (Service Desk)
Watson Library is located at the east side of campus on the southeast corner of the Jayhawk Boulevard and Sunflower Road intersection.
See: Drive and Park (use Campus Libraries dropdown)
Circulation Business Office
Watson Library, 3rd Floor
Adjacent to Service Desk
(785) 864-8986 (Attn: Circ Business)
(address for return of library materials via the post office or other delivery service)
Circulation Business Office
University of Kansas Libraries
1425 Jayhawk Blvd., Room 350
Lawrence, KS 66045-7547
International Area Studies
Watson Library, 5th Floor
(785) 864-1763 (Service Desk)
(785) 864-4593 (African Studies)
(785) 864-1617 (East Asian Library)
(785) 864-4669 (East Asian Library)
(785) 864-8854 (Slavic & Eurasian Studies)
(785) 864-3957 (Slavic & Eurasian Studies)
(785) 864-3476 (Slavic & Eurasian Studies)
(785) 864-3351 (Spain, Portugal & Latin America, Dept. for)
Resource Sharing / Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Watson Library, 2nd floor, Room 210 (south)
8:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m., Monday-Friday
Closed state holidays and days Watson Library is closed.
(785) 864-3960 (ILL Borrowing, KU patrons)
(785) 864-3964 (ILL Lending, other libraries)