Collections: Archival material, manuscripts, journals, and rare book collections held by the Kansas Collection, Special Collections, and University Archives.
Call numbers (always check the Library Catalog to confirm shelving locations): Library of Congress and local classification schemes. Note in particular that call numbers beginning with RH are in the Kansas Collection. RH is not a Library of Congress call number.
Catalog location names (examples only): Spencer Library (Kansas Collection); Spencer Library (Reference); Spencer Library (Special Collections); Spencer Library (University Archives)
Services: Collections are non-circulating, in library use only. The library is open to everyone who registers and shows photo identification. Users may register or log in via the Aeon system, then request items via the Library Catalog by clicking the Get at Spencer link. Refer users to Reader Services located on the Plaza Level of the library.
Also in Spencer Research Library: Marilyn Stokstad Reading Room (where the non-circulating collections are used).
Name confusion; be careful: The Art & Architecture Library is NOT located in Spencer Research Library. The Art & Architecture Library IS located on the back/west side of the Spencer Museum of Art.
Kenneth Spencer Research Library
1450 Poplar Lane
Lawrence, KS 66045-7596
(785) 864-4334 (Reader Services)
Spencer Research Library is located at 1450 Poplar Lane behind Strong Hall. Pedestrians can reach the library 1) through the Strong Hall rotunda from Jayhawk Boulevard and crossing the terrace that connects Strong Hall and Spencer, or 2) by entering the ground floor of Spencer from the covered parking area off Poplar Lane.
See: Drive and Park (use Campus Libraries dropdown)