User Services Student Guide: Map Collections; GIS & Data Lab

Orientation manual and materials for Public Service Staff

T. R. Smith Map Collection

Collections:  Printed and electronic resources including paper maps, air photographs, atlases, spatial data, and digital maps as well as the U.S. Serials Set of maps from U.S. Congressional reports.

Call numbers (always check the Library Catalog to confirm shelving locations):  Library of Congress:  selected G 1000-3122; G 3160-9980; selected Z 6021-6028.  SuDoc numbers.

Catalog location names (examples only):  Map Collection (Anschutz 1st floor); Map Collection-Reference (Anschutz 1st floor).

Services:  Library faculty and staff provide a combination of user assistance, circulation, research help, instruction, and collection selection and management services.

Where to return library materials:  All items checked out from the Map Collection should be returned directly to this service desk on the 1st floor of Anschutz Library.  Map's staff will provide specific instructions at the time of checkout.

Also located with the Map Collection:  GIS & Data Lab.

GIS & Data Lab

The Lab supports GIS and statistics-related class projects, teaching, and research at KU.  Computer workstations are available with specialized software.  The staff is available to help KU students, faculty, and staff use the specialized software and to find, access, and organize numeric, geospatial, and statistical data.  Click the link below to learn more about the GIS & Data lab.

Where is Maps located?

 

Anschutz Library
1301 Hoch Auditoria Drive
Lawrence, KS 66045-7537

Thomas R. Smith Map Collection is located on the first floor of Anschutz Library.

Phone Number
(785) 864-4420

Where is the GIS & Data Lab located?

 
Anschutz Library
1301 Hoch Auditoria Drive
Lawrence, KS 66045-7537

Phone Number
(785) 864-1238

Email
data@ku.edu

The GIS & Data Lab is located in Room 105 on Level 1 in Anschutz Library, adjacent to the T.R. Smith Map Collection.

Where is Anschutz Library located?

Anschutz Library is located in the center of campus, south of Hoch Auditorium/Budig Hall (Jayhawk Boulevard), north of Summerfield Hall (Sunnyside Avenue), and east of Murphy Hall (Sunnyside Avenue and Naismith Drive.)

See:  Drive and Park (use Campus Libraries dropdown)