South Slavic and the Balkan Peninsula: Scope

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian

We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.


Scope: The Balkan Peninsula is generally accepted to be comprised of the following countries:  Albania, Bosnia and Hercegovina, Bulgaria, Greece. Macedonia, and Montenegro. Sharing close contiguity are Croatia, and Romania, and Serbia. Although not considered part of the Balkans, Moldova, Slovenia, and Turkey are also important for the over-all history of the Balkans.

 KU has excellent collections covering most of the countries, especially the Slavic countries and Albania, however our collections relating to Greece, especially in Greek language, are relatively weak.

Geoff Husic

Profile Photo
Geoff Husic
Slavic, Linguistics, and Near East Studies Librarian

Room 519 Watson Library
University of Kansas
1425 Jayhawk Blvd
Lawrence, KS 66045-7544
Voice 785-864-3957
FAX 785-864-3850