A-Z Resource List: M

Taken from the ACLU collections at Princeton, this database includes materials covering the organization’s work related to civil rights, race, gender, and as well as files from the ACLU’s Southern Regional Office. The Regional Office’s papers document the ACLU’s work to dismantle Jim Crow.

Access an essential primary source tool for the study of all aspects of American history as well as the U.S. judicial system.

This online language learning service offers two options per language: Mango Complete, a 100 lesson course designed to provide an understanding of a language and its culture and Mango Basic, which teaches everyday phrases and greetings. More than 40 foreign language courses are available and 16 English as a Second Language courses. You will be required to set up a personal profile and log in to Mango.

This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas.

Cancelled due to budget constraints. Access retained to 2011 - 2020.

A collection of medical research and investigatory journals from Latin American and Spanish publishers. This Spanish language database contains the table of contents and full text for 130 peer-reviewed medical journals.

This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas.

Provides indexing and abstracts to the biomedical and life sciences literature. MEDLINE can also be searched through the Web of Knowledge platform. MEDLINE is the largest component of PubMed. Dates of coverage: 1949 to present.

This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas.

Starting in 1936, this Detroit paper is an excellent source to find primary sources concerning the civil rights movement.

Translated journals, newspapers, scientific reports, radio and television broadcasts from 19 countries in North Africa and the Middle East covering cultural, economic and political developments within the regions.

Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and U.S. government. Includes full text for nearly 300 journals.

This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the State Library of Kansas.

Provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America.

Russia's oldest English-language newspaper. Founded with utopian zeal and aimed at expatriates, Moscow News chronicled tectonic shifts that swept over Russia during the past lifetime. Moscow News offers a window in English toward a better understanding of the political and social upheavals in the Soviet and post-Soviet eras, providing a unique record of how the media adapted to the tumult that shook the USSR and the Russian Federation, from Stalin to Putin. These archives are also available to view on the Global Press Archive (GPA) platform: http://www2.lib.ku.edu/login?url=https://gpa.eastview.com/mn/

This collection chronicles the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music in full-text major reference works, including biographies and personal narratives from oral histories, manuscripts, song-sheets, lyrics, discography data, and other text sources. Subjects covered include jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, songs of enslaved people, minstrels, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of Black American musical expression.

This collection includes the authoritative reference titles (ex., Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music); biographical information on major composers and artists; score and lyric excerpts, and musical and notational terms; and photographs and images of people, instruments, and ensembles.

Music Online: Classical Scores Library is a reliable and authoritative destination for in-copyright digital scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of diverse and lesser-known contemporary works.

Music Online: Listening provides streaming access to over 11 million audio tracks*, across all the key musical genres. Includes Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound, a ten volume print set of encyclopedias, associated audio tracks, musical illustrations, photographs, drawings, song texts, score examples, charts, and maps.

Music Reference Collection brings together the most comprehensive written collection of materials for the study of music, covering virtually every musical time-period, genre, cultural group, and geographic region. The collection contains a variety of essential music reference materials allowing users to chronicle the history of music of diverse origins and walks of life. Includes access to Music Online: African American Music Reference, Music Online: Classical Music Reference Library, and Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music.