About
Russian Literature: researching prose, poetry, drama, etc.
This page focuses on foundational books and e-resources for the study of Russian literature and South Slavic literature. The left column presents the three most important English-language encyclopedias of Russian literature, three major histories of Russian literatures, followed by a long list of specialized Russian-language dictionaries and encyclopedias about Russian literature. The center column identifies important digital libraries of Russian texts, followed by two sources of web-resources about contemporary Russian literary milieu, and a list of Russian online literary journals.
E-libraries of Russian texts
E-libraries of Russian Texts
For full-text links to Russian literature, try these websites!
- Four Centuries. Russian Poetry in TranslationOnline magazine of Russian poetry in translation into different languages. Russian originals are not published.
- «ImWerden» - некоммерческая электронная библиотекаExcellent source of major authors and standard editions in Russian literature. Browse by author, theme, subject, book series, periodical, publishers, and personal collections.
- ФЕБ: Русская литература и фольклор"FEB-web" is short for The Fundamental Digital Library of Russian Literature and Folklore. Digital repository of authoritative primary, secondary, and reference sources for Russian literature.
- Lib.ru: Библиотека Максима МошковаDigital library of Russian literature, both classic and modern. Includes some music, philosophy, art, etc. New content is continually being added. Includes fiction, fantasy, science fiction, politics, documentaries, humor, history, and poetry.
- Интернет-библиотека Алексея КомароваIncludes 50 of the most well-known authors of 19th and 20th century Russian literature.
- Литературные журналы русского Парижа (1920–1940)Online archive of Russian literary, historical, sociopolitical, and religious-philosophical periodicals of the Russian emigre community in Paris, France (1920-1940). Journals are in PDF full text. Titles include: Грядущая Россия, Современные записки, Окно, Версты, Новый дом, Новый корабль, Стихотворение, Числа, Встречи, Круг, Русские записки, Грань, Зеленая палочка, Временник Общества друзей русской книги, Голос минувшего на чужой стороне, Утверждения, Новый град, Третья Россия, Русский временник.
- Русская виртуальная библиотека / Russian Virtual LibraryE-library of Russian literary texts. Includes classic and contemporary Russian works mostly from the 18-19th centuries and a few from the 20th century. Sources include large collected works with commentaries (but not the definitive scholarly editions) of major authors such as Pushkin, Dostoevsky, Tolstoy, and Chekhov.
- Бесплатная виртуальная электронная библиотека - ВВМВ нашей библиотеке собраны произведения наиболее известных авторов мировой литературы, а структура самой библиотеки создана таким образом, что позволяет быстро найти необходимое произведение или ознакомиться с жизнью и творчеством автора.
- Стихи.ру - национальный сервер современной поэзииPortal to contemporary Russian poetry online. Includes over 300,000 authors.
- Проза.ру - национальный сервер современной прозыPortal to contemporary Russian prose. Includes more than 100,000 authors.
- Gbooks: Книги по истории, археологии, географии, этнографии, филологии, изданные до 1917 годаCollection of thousands of e-books (in PDF) in Cyrillic, mostly pre-1917, that have entered the public domain. Subjects include history, archeology, geography, ethnography, philology, linguistics, genealogy, and philosophy.
- SovLit - СовЛитСайт посвящен русской литературе XX века и представляет художественные и другие тексты этого времени, а также исследования, справочные материалы и др.
- Электронная библиотека «ImWerden»Selected primary texts from Russian literature, history, periodical publications, and much more.
- Bookva / БукваRussian electronic facsimilie editions of books and journals which have entered the public domain.
- Национальная электронная детская библиотека (НЭДБ): Архив Оцифрованных МатериаловDigital archive of Russian children's literature.
- Krokodil: Digital Archive 1922-2008Digital archive of the satirical magazine Krokodil 1922-2008.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of Russian Literature (in ENGLISH)
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias of Russian Literature (In English)
Reference Guide to Russian Literature by Call Number: PG2940 .R43 1998ISBN: 1884964109Front matter includes lists of writers and their works; all works in the volume; chronological list of writers; general reading list; chronology of Russian literature and a glossary. This is followed by Introductory essays on important periods and concepts in Russian literature. The bulk of the work consists of author entries Entries begin with a brief biography followed by an extensive list of primary works arranged by type (i.e. collected editions; poetry, fiction, drama, autobiography, etc.). Important critical critical studies are also given. The main body of entries discusses the author's work in the context of Russian literature. Major works are also summarized. A titles index appears at the end of the volume. View excerpts on Google Books.
Handbook of Russian Literature by Call Number: PG2940 .H29 1985ISBN: 0300031556Arranged alphabetically, the work covers authors, literary movements and periods, genres, subjects, publication titles, and more. Front matter includes and extensive list of Russian language journals and almanacs referred to in the text and table of the transliteration system used in the text. Entries vary in length from short paragraph (i.e. Skorpion) to several pages (i.e. Formalism). In addition to basic biographical and literary data, entries for authors provide a list of the author's works, including major collected works, translations, as well as secondary literature and specialized bibliographies.
Selected histories or Russian Literature
Selected Histories
The Cambridge History of Russian Literature by Call Number: PG2951 .C36 1992 (Print ed.)ISBN: 9780521415543Publication Date: 1992Comprehensive narrative history of Russian literature beginning with Old Russia (988-1730) followed by detailed overviews of the literary periods spanning the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. Available in print ed. (1992) and e-book (2008).
Russian Literature since the Revolution by Call Number: PG3022 .B7 1982ISBN: 0674782046Publication Date: 1982Standard history of Russian and Soviet Literature describing major literary movements in 1917-1980s.
The Cambridge Introduction to Russian PoetryCall Number: PG3041 .W328 2004 (Watson Library - 2 1/2 West Stacks)Publication Date: 2004"Presents the major themes, forms, genres, and styles of Russian poetry [drawing upon] examples from Russia's greatest poets." Available in electronic form.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of Russian Literature (in RUSSIAN)
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of Russian Literature (in Russian)
Library of Congress Subject Headings for contemporary Russian literature:
Russian literature --20th century --Bio-bibliography --Dictionaries
Russian literature --20th century --Dictionaries
Authors, Russian --20th century --Bio-bibliography
Authors, Russian--21st century--Biography--Dictionaries.
Russkaia literatura XX veka: prozaiki, poety, dramaturgi: slovar' by
ISBN: 9785948482118Publication Date: Moscow: "OLMA-Press Invest," 2005Includes bibliographies of primary and secondary works. 3 vols.
Russkie pisateli: XX vek: biobibliograficheskii slovar' v dvukh chastiakh pod obshchei redaktsiei N.N. SkatovaCall Number: PG2991.4 .R87 1998ISBN: 5090069948Publication Date: Moskva: "Prosveshchenie", 1998.2 vols.Russkie pisateli 1800-1917: biograficheskii slovar' by
Call Number: PG2991.3 .R87 1989Publication Date: 1989-Birth and death dates given according to old and new calendars. Entries conclude with bibliography of author's works, secondary works about the author; and a list of archival repositories and fonds where manuscripts are located. 5 vols.
Slovar' russkikh pisatelei XVIII veka pod. red. N.D. Kochetkova, A.M. Panchenko (otv. redaktor)Call Number: PG2991.2 .S66 1988Publication Date: Leningrad: Nauka, 1988-Birth and death dates given according to old and new calendars. Entries conclude with list of archival repositories where manuscripts are located, followed by a list of works about the author. Vols. 1-2 only.
Russkii fol'klor i drevnerusskaia literatura pod obshchei redaktsiei E.B. RogachevskoiCall Number: PG3005.5.C47 R87 1998 (Watson Library - 2 1/2 West Stacks)ISBN: 5739002729Publication Date: Moskva: Olimp: AST, 1998.SERIES: Entsiklopediia literaturnykh geroev.
Russkaia literatura XVII - pervoi poloviny XIX veka pod obshchei redaktsiei A.N. Arkhangel'skogoCall Number: PG2940 .R87 1997 (Watson Library - 2 1/2 West Stacks)ISBN: 5739002729Publication Date: Moskva: Olimp: AST, 1997.SERIES: Entsiklopediia literaturnykh geroev.
Russkaia literatura vtoroi poloviny XIX veka pod obshchei redaktsiei E.A. ShklovskogoCall Number: PG3015.5.C5 R87 1997 (Watson Library - 2 1/2 West Stacks)ISBN: 5739002710Publication Date: Moskva: Olimp: AST, 1997.SERIES: Entsiklopediia literaturnykh geroev.
Russkaia literatura XX veka pod obshchei redaktsiei D.P. BakaCall Number: PG3020.5.C5 R87 1998 (Watson Library - 2 1/2 West Stacks)ISBN: 5739002729Publication Date: Moskva: Olimp: AST, 1998.
Novai︠a︡ Rossii︠a︡: mir literatury: ent︠s︡iklopedicheskiĭ slovarʹ- spravochnik v 2-kh tomakh by Call Number: PG3515 .C58 2003ISBN: 5956001569 (t.1), 5956001577 (t.2)Publication Date: Moskva: Vagrius, 2003.2 vols. Includes bios, list of publications, memberships, entries in reference works, and place of residence.
Kto segodnia delaet literaturu v Rossii by Call Number: PG2991.4 .O383 2006Publication Date: Moskva: Literaturnaia Rossiia, 2006-
Russian online literary journals
Russian Online Literary Journals
- ЖЗ: Журнальный Зал: Русский толстый журнал как эстетисеский феноменPortal to contemporary Russian literary journals online.
- Газета "Литературные известия"Online journal of the Union of Writers of the 21st century and the Union of literary personae.
- Международный литературно-художественный журнал "Дети Ра"International literary-artistic journal of the Writers Union of the 21st century.
- Проза.ру - национальный сервер современной прозыWebsite where writers can post their own works online. Includes nearly 2 million works by more than 115,000 authors.
- Проект «АРГО»New project from the creators of "Vavilon," dedicated to promoting Russian literature.
- Литературная РоссияWeekly newspaper of Russian writers.
- Русская фантастика и фантастика в сетиPortal to Russian fantasy, science fiction, etc.
- Литературные премии России (РНБ)Bibliography of literary prizes in Russia; compiled by the Russian State Library.
- ХРОНОС: всемирная история в интернетеExtensive Russian language online encyclopedia of history. Includes online Russian literary projects or periodicals under the heading "Русское поле."
Directories of contemporary Russian literature
Dictionaries of Contemporary Russian Literature
- Новая литературная карта РоссииPortal to the contemporary Russian literary landscape both in Russia and worldwide. Rich in bios of authors, publishers, critics, etc.
- Лица русской литературы: ГалереяPhoto gallery of Russian literary persona, with links to authors' websites and more.