Spanish & Portuguese; Spain & Latin America - Recommended academic resources: Reference - Online

This guide is designed for beginning to advanced students looking for the best resources on Spanish and Portuguese; Spain and Latin America and related fields.

Oxford Reference Online

SAGE Publications

   

Literary Theory

   

Dictionaries - Spanish and Portuguese

Scientific Electronic Library Online (SciELO)

Britannica en español

Enciclopedia Moderna includes over 50,000 articles plus 4,200 images. Complete with a dictionary, atlas, and timelines, it's the perfect resource for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish.

Gale Virtual Reference

 

The MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America.

MLA International Bibliography Tutorial - Under "Online Resources", click on: Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 is an online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. It is rich in original accounts of discovery and exploration, military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, religious history and more. Sabin Americana covers a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean

Sabin Americana Tutorial - Under "Online Resources:, click on:  Sabin Americana

  Gale World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean

World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean combines historical and contemporary reference and archival materials with current events. It provides primary sources, academic journals, news feeds, reference articles, maps, statistics, etc. Subjects include: area studies, history, political science, international relations, anthropology, sociology, economics, environmental studies, cultural studies, literature, music, the arts and religion.

World Scholar Tutorial - Under "Online Resources", click on: Gale World Scholar

¡Informe!

Informe! is the first reference database to provide indexing, full text, and images of the most popular Spanish language magazines and bilingual periodicals. Aimed at the needs of both serious researchers and casual browsers, Informe! provides single-search access to the full text of more than 140 Spanish language and bilingual products, covering a wide range of subject matter from current events to academic interests.

Life and Times of Jorge Luis Borges

Life and Times of Jorge Luis Borges - Database originates from the Jorge Luis Borges Collection and Documentation Center of the Fundación San Telmo, which contains the world’s largest collection of materials related to Borges’ life and works. The collection was begun in 1886 and includes manuscripts and letters, books, periodicals, photographs, audio and video recordings, newspaper and magazine clippings, and other objects and documents.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library provides access to a wide variety of reference materials. The collection includes publications covering a wide variety of subject matters, such as, history, biography, literature, medicine, health, sociology, and education.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Tutorial - Under "Online Resources", click on: Gale Virtual Reference Library