Founded in 1914, AIGA now represents more than 16,000 designers through national activities and local programs developed by 55 chapters and more than 150 student groups. AIGA sets the national agenda for the role of design in its economic, social, political, cultural and creative contexts.
An international organization whose members are type designers, type publishers, graphic and typographic designers. Founded in 1957, ATypI provides the structure for communication, information and action amongst the international type community.
Founded in 1963, icograda is an assembly of organisations concerned with graphic design, visual communication, design management, promotion, education, research and journalism. The website includes an international calendar of events, essays and blogs, a document library, case studies, and a career center.
Founded in 1901, the Society promotes the art and appreciation of illustration, as well as its history and evolving nature, and encourages high ideals through exhibitions, lectures, education, and by fostering a sense of community and open discussion.
The objectives of the TDC are: a) To raise the standards of typography and related fields of the graphic arts, and b) To provide inspiration, simulate research, further education, and disseminate information relating to the typographic arts.
London: Thames & Hudson, 2012. A guide to international developments in graphic design from pre-industrial printing presses and medieval typography to computer graphics and avant-garde stylistic advances.
Includes Arts +Architecture ProFILES, a biographical dictionary of designers, architects, craftspeople, photographers, studios and other institutions. The largest and most comprehensive dictionary of design and designers available.
Included in this resource are more than 20,000 selections from AIGA’s annual juried design competitions dating from 1924-present and special collections of major American design firms and practitioners.
3 discs. 50 min. Interviews with designers from three design firms, Nita B. Creative, Planet Propaganda, and Werner Design Werks, with samples of design work completed for particular projects and discussion of their various stages from conception through production.
2nd ed. New York: Allworth Press: AIGA, c2008. Guide to professional practice in graphic design covering web, interactive, and motion graphics, green design, potential legislation on Orphan works, protection of fonts and software, managing creative people, using professional help such as lawyers, and more.
14th ed. New York: Graphic Artists Guild, c2013. The industry bible for graphic designers and illustrators with information on legal rights and issues such as copyright laws, how to negotiate the best deals, how to charge for work, and sample contracts.
Lausanne: AVA Pub./Academia, 2009. This book discusses both the familiar aspects of graphic-design jobs, such as art directing, copyright issues, and web design, and the broader implications of graphic design, including social responsibility, the art world, and the future.
6th ed. Australia; United States: Thomson/Wadsworth, c2007. Combines design principles, history, and current technology to present students with a comprehensive introduction to the field of graphic design.
New York: Princeton Architectural Press; Baltimore: Maryland Institute College of Art, c2011. Presents tools and techniques for developing creative design solutions. Includes visual demonstrations and case studies.
Sponsored by the AIGA, this blog features articles by and for designers. Each issue is curated by a professional designer, as selected by AIGA editors, who showcases specific aspects from within the broad realm of design. High quality design and easy to navigate.
A non-profit organization based in France whose objective is to help both font authors and font users. Includes an Index of possibly all existing fonts in the world with freeware, shareware and commercial fonts as well as a search engine that allows you to browse through all these fonts using 13 user-oriented criteria.
Design Annualsrepresent yearly juried competitions for award-winning design. The volumes are usually primarily images with little text beyond captions.