Indexes & Bibliographies
To learn of an article in a journal on a topic that you are researching, you may need to use an index or bibliography. These tools can be searched like the library catalog using names, keywords, phrases, word combinations, etc. Different indexes may present the information in a variety of formats so you need to read the page carefully to determine how to proceed. Some indexes will only provide a CITATION to the article while others may provide a full-text version. If there is only a citation, look for the 
symbol to learn if there is a full-text online version, a paper copy in the library, or, if KU does not own, an option to borrow through Interlibrary Loan.
General indexes
- Academic search complete This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals, with full text for more than 8,750 of those titles, over a broad spectrum of subjects.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Asian indexes
- Bibliography of Asian studies This link opens in a new windowCitations to Western-language periodical articles pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
Art indexes
- Art Full TextIndexes articles and illustrations in 313 international art, architecture and design periodicals from 1984-present.
- ARTbibliographies modern This link opens in a new windowAbstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art with an emphasis on 20th & 21st century art.
Selected Journals
- Archives of Asian ArtE-version from 2008
- Archives of Asian ArtBackfile from v.1, 1945-v.21, 1968
- Archives of Asian ArtBackfile from no.22, 1968-current.
An annual journal devoted to the arts of South, Southeast, Central, and East Asia. Each issue presents articles by leading scholars and a selection of outstanding works of Asian art acquired by North American museums during the previous year. The editors attempt to maintain a balanced representation of regions and types of art, as well as a variety of scholarly perspectives. KU Professors Marsha Weidner Haufler and Sherry Fowler both serve on the Editorial Board.
- ArtAsiaPacificBi-monthly magazine that explores and documents the contemporary arts of the Asia and Pacific regions. Includes commentary, exhibition reviews, essays, and auction reports.
- Artibus AsiaeSemi-annual publication of scholarly articles and research notes devoted to the history of art and archaeology of Asia. Initiated in 1925, it is now published by the Museum Rietberg Zurich in cooperation with the Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D.C. Professor Amy McNair from KU is currently editor-in-chief.
- AsianArt.comOnline journal for the study and exhibition of Asian art. Includes information on associations, exhibitions, articles, and galleries along with a forum, calendar, links and books.
- Asian Art NewspaperMonthly newspaper offering a snapshot of what's happening in the world of Asian and Islamic art around the globe. Each month it includes an interview with an artist, as well as covering all the major international exhibitions, auctions, art fairs and other events. Includes the performing arts, film and literature and each year produces special guides within the newspaper that cover the main Asia weeks around the world.
- OrientationsPublished 8 times per year and intended for collectors and connoisseurs of Asian art. It presents the ancient arts of painting, calligraphy, bronzes, and ceramics as well as the decorative arts and crafts. Coverage of contemporary artists also included.