General Information
- Timeline of Art HistoryA chronological, geographical and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world extending from prehistory to the present day, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection.
Current Information on Art
- Artdaily.orgA daily newspaper established in 1996 devoted to reporting on art and artists.
- Art Deadlines ListMonthly newsletter with several hundred announcements of art contests, competitions, scholarships & grants, exhibitions, art jobs & internships, etc. An expanded version available by paid subscription.
- Euromuse.netExhibition portal for major exhibitions in European museums.
Writing & Citing
- Writing about ArtPrepared by Marjorie Munsterberg of City College, New York, and intended to help students improve their ability to write about visual things.
A Short Guide to Writing about Art by 11th ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Education Inc, c2015. Useful guide that is now in its 11th edition. Shows how to analyze art and suggests tools needed for effective writing.
- Chicago manual of style online This link opens in a new window16th ed. The style guide primarily used in humanities fields such as art history.
Artists' Biographies
- Oxford art online This link opens in a new windowAn encyclopedia of art information and a good starting point for research. Allows simultaneous searching of Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Content includes biographies, subject entries, bibliographies, images, and learning resources. Articles are signed by recognized scholars.
- AskART This link opens in a new windowBiographies for more than 52,000 American artists from the early 16th-century through the present. Entry may include images, bibliography, and museum information.
- Biographical Dictionary of Kansas Artists (active before 1945)Short biographies for more than 2600 artists who were born in or artistically active in the state before 1945.
Catalogues Raisonnes
A catalogue raisonné is a publication that provides a comprehensive catalogue of artwork by an artist. Sometimes the catalogue raisonne is limited to a specific medium, a time period, or a genre but, whatever the restriction, it purports to be an exhaustive list of works for a defined subject matter describing the works so that they may be reliably identified by third parties. This type of resource is relied upon by scholars, collectors, and dealers to validate authenticy.
- International Foundation for Art ResearchIFAR offers two databases, one of published catalogues raisonnes and the other is catalogues raisonnes in preparation. You can search both simultaneously or search individually by artist's name, author, date, or period.
- A. C. I. , Art Catalogue Index byThis detailed index lists the catalogues raisonnés of artists born between 1780 and the late 20th century and covers painting, sculpture, works on paper, engraving and contemporary media.
- Art Books by2nd edition. Organized by artist's last name, Freitag identifies the entries that are catalogues raisonnes with the code "cr."
Some examples of catalogues raisonnes include:
- The paintings of Titian by3v. The work is organized thematically with each volume covering a different painting genre.
- Jackson Pollock by4v. Volumes are organized by medium with vols. 1-2 covering painting, v.3 covers drawing, and v.4 other work.
- Pablo Picasso : the illustrated books : catalogue raisonneÌ byFor prolific artists like Picasso, there are many catalogues raisonnes, each covering a different aspect of his artwork.
- Georgia O'Keeffe by2v. An example of a project that covered all time and all media.
DVDs & Streaming Videos
The KU Libraries are actively collecting DVDs and Streaming Videos.
To locate specific DVDs, use the Library Catalog or go to the Library and browse the DVDs. Library DVDs are usually available to be checked out for 1 week. Here is a sample of what's available in the Art & Architecture Library - Video/DVD collection:
- Art 21 art in the twenty-first century : season three220 min. Highlights from seasons one and two. Presents 18 diverse artists working in the United States, taking viewers behind the scenes - and beyond the museum or gallery experience - into artists’ studios, homes, and communities to provide an intimate view of their lives, work, creative processes, and sources of inspiration.
- Rembrandt 400 yearsDVD + CD-ROM. 90 min. An intimate view of Rembrandt and his work and world. Many of his masterpieces are reviewed in detail with special attention to The Nightwatch.
- Simon Schama’s Power of art3 discs. 400 min. Focusing on eight iconic works of art, this series reveals the history of visual imagination through the ages.
If you are looking for a specific streaming video please use the KU Libraries Quick Search located at the top of the library homepage. For more information use the Guide to Streaming Videos to identify the various products available at KU and to learn how to use them in your classes. Here are some examples of available art videos:
- Olafur Eliasson: Space Is Process51 min. with 16 segments. Filmed over a period of five years, this program follows the Danish-Icelandic artist’s work in locations around the world.
- Troublemakers: The Story of Land Art71 min. Troublemakers unearths the history of land art in the tumultuous late 1960s and early 1970s. The film features a cadre of renegade New York artists that sought to transcend the limitations of painting and sculpture by producing earthworks on a monumental scale in the desolate desert spaces of the American Southwest.
Other resources to search for streaming video beyond the KU Libraries are:
UbuWeb a web-based educational resource for avant-garde material, includes video and sound