Online Dictionaries available KU Libraries
- A Dictionary of the Yoruba LanguageThe first Dictionary of the Yoruba language was published in the year 1843, compiled by Samuel (afterwards Bishop)
Crowther. This was greatly altered and considerably enlarged
for a new edition in 1852. For many years this book was the standard work on the Yoruba language.
A Dictionary of the Yoruba Language by ISBN: 9780307605Publication Date: 2001-11-01Based upon the nineteenth century standard work on the Yoruba language, and first ever English-Yoruba, Yoruba-English dictionary, this new edition has been revised and enlarged considerably. The dictionary contains about 50,000 references and translations; Yoruba pronunciation guidance; examples of how words are used; contemporary meanings and interpretations; and reference to grammatical usage and parts of speech. There is also an extensive list of commonly occurring birds, plants and trees, translated from Yoruba into English alongside their botanical equivalents.
- English-Yoruba/Yoruba-English modern practical dictionaryThis unique bilingual dictionary gives English speakers and other non-Yoruba a tool with which to learn one of the national languages of Nigeria, while simultaneously giving Yoruba scholars, students, and educators a voice to reach each other and the rest of the world in their native language. Includes: a comprehensive review of the Yoruba alphabet and tonal system; more than 26,000 total word-to-word dictionary entires (no definitions), which include medical terms, the basic elements, and plant and animal taxonomy; a grammar section that includes part of speech and sentence structure; a list of Yoruba and English word roots, prefixes, and suffixes; and an appendix of scientific measurements and rudimentary mathematical terminology.
Print Dictionaries Available in KU Libraries
Yoruba-English - English-Yoruba Concise Dictionary by Call Number: PL8823 .Y35 1996ISBN: 0781802636Publication Date: 1996-05-01This dictionary includes over 6,500 entries and a clear pronunciation guide detailing and providing examples for the many different sounds of Yoruba. The concept of a tonal language, essential to this major Nigerian tongue, is thoroughly defined and illustrated. Each Yoruban entry is romanized and each English entry is transcribed into the Yoruban alphabet - making this an incredibly valuable tool for both Yoruban and English speakers alike. Yoruba, with its lengthy and important history in West Africa, remains today the most widely spoken language in African religious ceremonies in the Western hemisphere. It is the main language spoken in Nigeria, Benin Republic and Togo.- A Dictionary of the Yoruba Language by ISBN: 9780307605Publication Date: 2001-11-01Based upon the nineteenth century standard work on the Yoruba language, and first ever English-Yoruba, Yoruba-English dictionary, this new edition has been revised and enlarged considerably. The dictionary contains about 50,000 references and translations; Yoruba pronunciation guidance; examples of how words are used; contemporary meanings and interpretations; and reference to grammatical usage and parts of speech. There is also an extensive list of commonly occurring birds, plants and trees, translated from Yoruba into English alongside their botanical equivalents.
- Yoruba-English - English-Yoruba Concise Dictionary by Call Number: PL8823 .Y35 1996ISBN: 0781802636Publication Date: 1996-05-01his dictionary includes over 6,500 entries and a clear pronunciation guide detailing and providing examples for the many different sounds of Yoruba. The concept of a tonal language, essential to this major Nigerian tongue, is thoroughly defined and illustrated. Each Yoruban entry is romanized and each English entry is transcribed into the Yoruban alphabet - making this an incredibly valuable tool for both Yoruban and English speakers alike. Yoruba, with its lengthy and important history in West Africa, remains today the most widely spoken language in African religious ceremonies in the Western hemisphere. It is the main language spoken in Nigeria, Benin Republic and Togo.
