University of Kansas logo
Subject & Course Guides
HIST 301: Historian's Craft (Wood)
Search this Guide
HIST 301: Historian's Craft (Wood): Home
Use this well known encyclopedia to learn basic information about a topic.
A collection of reference materials (encyclopedias/dictionaries) covering all subjects.
This reference source contains short entries on technologies from 1900 to 2000.
Obtain basic historical information. Be sure to look at the footnotes and resources.
KU Library Catalog
Search the monographic, serial, and video holdings of the KU Libraries.
Google Scholar (includes Get at KU)
Search for scholarly sources in Google's Academic database. ALWAYS use the link from the KU Libraries so links to online sources appears.
America: history and life
Indexes and abstracts the world's scholarly literature in the history of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.
Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Indexes the journal and book literature.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Indexes to Primary Sources
Reader's guide retrospective
An index to periodical literature from 1890 to 1982. Most of these are available in the KU Libraries. Many will be on microfilm.
Select Digital Primary Sources
Academic search complete
An excellent sources starting in the 1980s.
Business source complete
Even though this database focuses on business, remember every technology has to be bought and sold between industries and consumers.
Digital Collections of The Henry Ford Museum
Over 26 million artifacts and digitized documents from the Henry Ford Archive of American Innovation.
Variety of magazines freely available from Google. There are not any easy ways to print or save. Titles can searched by keyword or flipped through.
Historical Annual Reports
Search annual reports of public companies from 1844 to 2008. In addition to annual summaries, this database includes financials.
New York Times with index
The most important American newspaper in the 20th century.
Although this database doesn't have images or PDFs of original texts, the content here covers a significant portion of the twentieth century.
Access public opinion polls back to the 1930s to today.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Search and watch various television news broadcasts starting in 1968.
Wall Street journal (historical)
America's most read business newspaper.
Women’s Magazine Archive 1 & 2
Search or browse the pages of Good Housekeeping, Ladies Home Journal, Parents, Seventeen and other magazines geared towards women.
Life Magazine Digital Archive
Search and browse the pages of the 20th centuries most important photographic magazine.
Search the images of Life by object. Use this database to look for things like "keyboard" or "kitchen sink."
Watson Library, Room 350
1425 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence, KS 66045-7544
History, United States
The Chicago Manual of Style
Other Guides of Note
United States Primary Sources
Historical American Newspapers
Mar 28, 2022 9:04 AM
Login to LibApps