HIST 229: United States in the 1960s: Home

Search the full-text of materials from the United State's largest research libraries. The database includes books, serials, and government reports.

Search library catalogs from around the world. Find something KU doesn't have, order it on Interlibrary Loan.

An index to articles from a historical perspective covering the United States and Canada.

This index includes scholarly citations from a historical perspective covering every portion of the globe but the United States and Canada.

An database that covers literature on various aspects of mass media.

Indexing and abstracts, as well as some full text to journals and books. Also includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.

Indexes journal articles covering classical, popular, and world music.

Includes both a national and international perspective of political science topics, drawing from scholarly, professional, and peer-reviewed sources.

Primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues affecting LGBTQ communities around the world, starting in 1940.

The photograph archives and wire reports of the Associated Pres, with content starting in the late 19th century.

This database contains the papers of individuals and organizations involved in the civil rights movement. Some examples are: Revolutionary Action Movement; Mary McLeod Bethune; National Association of Colored Women's Clubs; Southern Christian Leadership Conference; Bayard Rustin; Claude A. Barnett.

Contains primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries. Among the periodicals included are Billboard, Variety, and Broadcasting.

Primary sources from the records of civil rights activist, Fanny Lou Hamer. Among the included materials are correspondence, financial records, photographs, and others.

Access select FBI files.

The Gerritsen collection includes 4,700 publications from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543-1945.

This collection chronicles the decades of the 60s, 70s and 80s through the lens of independent alternative presses. Among the broad interest groups covered are American youth. Feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals and the New Left, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, and members of the LGBT communities.

This digitized collection of the NAACPS papers which are held at the Library of Congress are available here. this collection includes memos, briefings and other materials from the local to national civil rights movement.

Includes printed and manuscript sources, visual material, ephemera, and video clips. Covers music, tv, movies, fashion, youth culture, student protests, civil rights movement, and women's liberation.

Indexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States during the Twentieth Century.

IPoll contains half a million survey questions and answers asked in the United States since the 1930s by more than 150 survey organizations.

The Sixties contains letters, diaries, memoirs, and oral histories; accounts from official, radical, and alternative organizations; posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and rare materials; and Universal newsreel footage covering from 1960 to 1974.

Books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.

Search the full text popular magazines such as Good Housekeeping, Women’s Day, Ladies’ Home Journal, Town and Country, Parents, Seventeen and more.