Skip to main content

Technical papers: Getting Started

Track down technical reports on topics as varied as climate change and rocket propulsion by using a combination of government sites, KU Libraries catalog, and databases.

Technical papers

Locate technical reports with a combination of searches on the web, the KU Libraries catalog, and databases. In the microfiche collection KU Libraries holds many technical papers for AIAA, NASA, NACA, and NTIS. If you need assistance in locating technical reports, please let us know.

Learn more about the collections at KU Libraries:

  • AIAA - Papers from the  American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
  • NASA - NASA technical reports and special publications including the early agency, NACA.
  • NTIS - government sponsored scientific research

More sources for technical papers:

  • DTIC - Defense Technical Information Center
  • OpenGrey - Sytem for Information on Grey Literature in Europe
  • OSTI - Office of Science & Technical Information, Dept. of Energy
  • Sciene.gov - Gateway to U.S. Federal Science
  • TRAIL - Technical Report Archive & Image Library, federal technical reports issued before 1975

Try the search tools from professional organizations for technical reports including conference proceedings.

  • ASTM
  • Compendex - many engineering technical proceedings are indexed here
  • SAE Digital Library - technical papers including conference proceedings jointly sponsored by AIAA and SAE
  • OnePetro - Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) - full text documents with some papers duplicated in Spahr microfiche, TN860 .S64

Need a technical paper that KU Libraries does not have? Request a copy from another library.

Engineering Guide

TRAIL - Technical Report Archive & Image Library Search

TRAIL - Technical Report Archive and Image Library - logo


Search U.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1976 and digitized by TRAIL.

Keyword Search

Enter your search terms:

Research Help

We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.

Acronyms

AIAA - American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

NASA - National Aernautics and Space Administration

STI - Science and Technical Information

NTRS - NASA Technical Report Server

CASI - Center for AeroSpace Information

DTIC - Defense Technical Information Center