Skip to main content

JOUR 840: Sports Marketing and Promotion: Getting Started

This guide will provide you with suggestions for books, databases, and websites to help you complete your assignment.

Getting Started

As you begin the research process for this class, think about the kind of information that you will need and where to find it.  Begin to consider what keywords best describe the information you want to find.  How will you decide that the resource is accurate or balanced? 

In this guide, you will find suggestions for how to begin your research for this class.  The information is divided into the following categories:  Books, Databases, Individual Journals and Websites.  They are meant to provide a starting place for your research, but are by no means comprehensive.

Mintel Reports

Data, analysis and insights on consumer and industrial markets. Click "I Agree" to the Conditions of Use.

Plunkett Research Online - Plunkett Research Online provides industry analysis, company profiles and market research information for over 30 industries.

Business Insights: Essentials 

Provides business and industry content in the following areas: periodical articles, news articles, and press releases; detailed information for domestic and international companies and associations, including information on corporate hierarchical structures; investment reports; corporate chronologies and company histories; brands and product information; industry and company rankings; financial overviews; industry overviews; HR Law Case Digests.

Business Source Complete 

This database provides full text from more than 7,400 scholarly business journals (over 1,100 are peer-reviewed) and periodicals covering management economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top business journals and is particularly strong in both management and marketing, including Harvard Business Review and California Management Review. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports from Datamonitor, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

Census Business Builder: Regional Analyst Edition

Map Census information to a region or research particular industries in a region. The Census Builder Builder is a new tool (still in Beta) that will help you better understand the economy and the people in your proposed region, city, and even zip code. 

Proquest Statistical Abstract of the United States (find through the e-journals search)

Culling Census and other government information, the Statistical Abstract provides charts of information about demography, income, labor, industry, public transportation, and weather. Much of this is broken down by major metropolitan cities. If your city is not included, then you can track the information to its original source to discover more relevant information. 

Ask a Librarian

We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.

Research Help

Karna Younger
Contact:
Hawks Nest, RC 120B
KU-Edwards
12600 Quivira Rd.
Overland Park, KS 66213
913-897-8556