Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Research & Course Guides - Vickie Doll

China & Korea Studies

Profile Image
Vickie Doll
Logo - FacebookLogo - Google TalkLogo - Twitter
Contact Info:
East Asian Library
University of Kansas Libraries
Lawrence, KS 66045
KUeal updates

Guides

CHIN 342/542: Classical Chinese
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated May 2, 2014
Primary sources of classical (pre-modern) Chinese texts and basic treatment of Chinese reference works.
Tags: ancient_text_chinese, character_dictionaries, china, china_ancient, chinese, chinese_dictionaries, chinese_language, chinese_poetry, chinese_studies, classical_chinese, early_china, east_asian_studies, han, pre-han
CHIN 544 Readings in Classical Chinese
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Jan 13, 2014
The course introduces readings from a specific philosophical school or literary genre, for example: Confucian Philosophical Texts, Daoist Philosophical Texts, Poetry, Ming/Qing fiction, etc. Prerequisite: CHIN 342 or CHIN 542 or consent of the instructor.
Tags: chinese_language, chinese_poetry, chinese_studies legalist_texts daoist_philosophical_texts, classical_chinese, east_asian_studies
China Legal Research
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Mar 16, 2014
Provides library resources related to Chinese legal history, modern Chinese laws, regulations, cases, and statutes, and a section on doing business in China.
Tags: business, china, china_law, china_legal, law, legal
China Studies
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated May 28, 2014
Provides a starting point for China Studies, including resources to find books, articles, newspapers, etc. This page also includes Chinese studies course guides, and information of travel to China.
Tags: character_dictionaries, china, china_ancient, china_contemporary, china_modern, chinese, chinese_dictionaries, chinese_language, early_china, east_asian, east_asian_dictionaries, east_asian_library, east_asian_studies, modern_chinese, travel_china, 中國
Chinese and Korean Language Resources for Art History Studies
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Apr 15, 2014
Chinese and Korean language library research resources for art history studies
Tags: art, art_history, china, china_contemporary, china_modern, chinese_studies, east_asian, east_asian_studies, korea, korean, museum, 中國, 東亞圖書館, 東亞研究, 韓國
EALC 121: Introduction to Contemporary China
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Feb 8, 2014
Research resources on contemporary China after reform and opening up for the past thirty years in its social, economical, political and cultural changes.
Tags: china, china_contemporary, china_economic_reform, china_modern, china_opening-up, china_society, chinese_studies, contemporary_chinese_writers, course_guide, east_asian, east_asian_studies, 中國, 東亞研究
EALC 318/590 Modern Chinese Fiction and Film
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Jan 13, 2014
An introduction to the Chinese fiction of the first half of the twentieth century
Tags: asian_studies, china_modern, china_society, chinese_modern_literature, chinese_studies, 中國, 東亞研究
EALC 318/590: Modern Chinese Literature in Translation
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Feb 20, 2014
Research resources on modern Chinese authors fiction and film. MLA writing style and an annotated bibliography of "works cited" are assigned for final paper.
Tags: asian_studies, china, chinese, chinese_language, chinese_modern_literature, chinese_studies, contemporary_chinese_writers, film, 中國, 東亞研究
EALC 319/590: Contemporary Chinese Literature in Translation
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Feb 20, 2014
Intro. to Chinese literature of the second half of the twentieth century. Students will learn the modern Chinese-speaking world through the mediation of literature.
Tags: china, china_contemporary, chinese, chinese_modern_literature;, chinese_studies, writers
EALC 415/615: Ancient China
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Jan 26, 2014
Research resources cover ancient China from Shang dynasty to Han and basic research skills.
Tags: ancient_china, ancient_civilization, ancient_text_chinese, archaeology_china, china, china_ancient, chinese_studies, early_china, east_asian, east_asian_studies, 中國, 東亞研究
EALC 520: Entrepreneurship in East Asia
by Vickie Doll, Michiko Ito - Last Updated Jun 3, 2014
This guide provides library information resource and web resources on course related information and citation help.
Tags: business, china, china_modern, chinese_studies, east_asian_studies, entrepreneurship, international_business, japan, japanese_studies, korea
EALC 590: Chinese Cinema
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Jun 3, 2014
This course examines the recent developments of Chinese cinema. Students are expected to view films, and learn theories and methodologies of film studies.
Tags: china_contemporary, china_modern, chinese_studies, cinema, film
EALC 590: Chinese Popular Culture
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Mar 14, 2014
Recent developments of Chinese cinema, culture and society since 2000.
Tags: china, china_contemporary, china_modern, chinese_studies, east_asian_studies, film, popular_culture, 中國, 東亞研究
EALC 590: Gender & Society in Modern China
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Jan 13, 2014
This course provides a historical overview of transforming gender politics and social life in modern China (1911-present).
Tags: china, china_modern, chinese_studies, east_asian_studies, film, taiwan, 中國, 東亞研究
East Asian Studies
by Vickie Doll, Michiko Ito - Last Updated May 23, 2014
Resources for East Asian Studies, and links to China Studies, Japan Studies and Korea Studies.
Tags: china, china_contemporary;, china_modern;, chinese, chinese_, chinese_language, chinese_studies, early_china, east_asian, east_asian_library, east_asian_studies, japan, japanese, korea, korean, taiwan, 中國, 日本, 東亞圖書館, 東亞研究, 韓國
East Asian Studies Electronic Resources
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated May 28, 2014
Electronic resources for East Asian studies, Chinese studies, Japanese studies, and Korean studies at KU
Tags: asian_studies, china, chinese_studies, e-books, east_asian, east_asian_library, east_asian_studies, ebooks, electronic_books, international_studies, japan, japanese, korea, korean, 中國, 東亞圖書館, 東亞研究
ECIV 304: Eastern Civilization
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Jan 7, 2014
The guide provides library research materials for broad understanding of traditional cultures and literature of East Asia.
Tags: ancient_china, ancient_civilization, asian, asian_studies, china, china_ancient, chinese_studies, course_guide, early_china, east, east_asian, east_asian_studies, eastern_civilization, japan, korea, research, research_methods, timeline
Korea Studies
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated May 2, 2014
Provides a starting point for Korea Studies, including resources to find books, articles, newspapers, etc.
Tags: east_asian, korea, korean, korean_faculty, 東亞圖書館, 東亞研究, 韓國
Literary Inquisition - China Banned Books Exhibit
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Jan 21, 2014
This exhibition was part of the International Area Studies Banned Book Exhibits in fall 2012.
Tags: banned_books, banned_publications, censorship, china, literary inquisition
South Asian Studies
by Vickie Doll - Last Updated Apr 16, 2014
This guide provides information on South Asian Studies resources available at the University of Kansas Libraries and links to external information.
Tags: asian_studies, bangladesh, burma, global_studies, india, international, international_area_studies, nepal, pakistan, south_asia, south_asian_studies, sri_lanka

 
 
Description

  Loading...