Books
The following are useful reference sources for opera. They include research guides, as well as information about opera repertory, plots, and biography. Click the titles to view the KU library catalog record for each item.
Reference Sources
Annals of Opera, 1597-1940
Call Number: ML102.O6 L6 1978
Baker's Dictionary of Opera
Call Number: ML102.O6 B26 2000
Cross Index Title Guide to Opera and Operetta
Call Number: ML128.O4 P3 1989
International Dictionary of Opera
Call Number: ML102.O6 I6 1993
Operas in English
Call Number: ML102.O6 G74 1999
The Encylopedia of Opera
Call Number: ML102.O6 E6
The Grove Book of Operas
Call Number: ML102.O6 N48 2006
The Metropolitan Opera Encyclopedia: A Comprehensive Guide to the World of Opera
Call Number: ML102.O6 M47 1987
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera
Call Number: ML102.O6 N5 1992
The Dictionary of Opera
Call Number: ML102.O6 O8 1983b
The New Penguin Opera Guide
Call Number: ML102.O6 V55 2001
Encyclopedia of Opera on Screen: A Guide to More Than 100 Years of Opera Films, Videos, and DVDs
Call Number: ML102.O6 W55 2004
The Oxford Dictionary of Opera
Call Number: ML102.O6 W37 1992
Dictionary-Catalogue of Operas and Operettas
Call Number: ML102.O6 T8 1967
Biographical Sources
Opera Librettists and Their Works
Call Number: ML102.O6 P25 1986 vol. 5-6
The Grove Book of Opera Singers
Call Number: ML102.O6 G76 2008
Who's Who in Opera: An International Biographical Directory of Singers, Conductors, Directors, Designers, and Administrators, Also Including Profiles of 101 Opera Companies
Call Number: ML102.O6 W5
Research
An Opera Bibliography
Call Number: ML102.O6 P25 1968 vol. 17-18
Crowell's Handbook of World Opera
Call Number: ML102.O6 M6 1974
Opera for Libraries: A Guide to Core Works, Audio and Video Recordings, Books and Serials
Call Number: ML128.O4 M21 2003
Operas: A Research and Information Guide
Call Number: ML128.O4 M28 2001
Operas on American Subjects
Call Number: ML128.O4 J6
Twentieth Century Opera in England and the United States
Call Number: ML128.O4 N7
Plot and Character Guides
Who Married Figaro?: A Guide to Opera Characters
Call Number: ML102.O6 B68 2008
Opera Plot Index: A Guide to Locating Plots and Dexcriptions of Operas, Oprettas, and Other Works of the Musical Theater, and Associated Material
Call Number: ML128.O4 S8 1990
Index to Opera, Operetta, and musical Comedy Synopses in Collection and Periodicals
Call Number: ML128.O4 D76
Repertory and Production Guides
Operas in One Act: A Production Guide
Call Number: MT955 .S86 1997
Guide to Operatic Roles and Arias
Call Number: ML102.O6 B65 1994
The Chorus in Opera: A Guide to the Repertory
Call Number: ML128.C48 D47 1993
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |


top
Loading...
