Subject & Course Guides: East Asian Studies Electronic Resources: EA Studies Articles & Databases

What's this page about?

This page contains selected article databases useful for East Asian studies. Some databases are full-text while others only contain indexes. Each database has different coverage, so it is highly recommended that you try multiple databases to do a thorough search. If you find bibliographic records of interest from index databases, please search the KU Online Catalog to find out which journal publishes the article. If we don't have the journal, please place an interlibrary loan request.

Starting Points

These are the recommended databases to begin journal article searches for Asian studies. Also consult China, Japan, and Korea library subject guides and East Asian studies course guides for specific resources. For example, Education articles can be found in Eric, the education specific database. Education related to Asian studies, can also be found in the Bibliography for Asian Studies.

Bibliography of Asian studies This link opens in a new window
Bibliographical citations of journal articles and selected chapters from books of all subjects in Asian studies from 1971 to present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. The following collections are accessible: Arts and Sciences Collections I-X; Life Sciences Collection; and Public Health Reports.
Academic search complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text peer reviewed journal articles as well as newspapers, blogs, wire services, and general interest periodicals from across all academic disciplines.
Gale Academic: OneFile Select This link opens in a new window
Provides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly and general interest journals embracing all academic disciplines.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the following:
--full-text of current news and up to the last 20 years
--full-text company news & financial information
--full-text federal, state & international legal materials
--full-text and abstracted medical & health information
--general reference sources
ProQuest research library This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database available that indexes and abstracts general interest magazines and scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. The database includes more than 3820 titles -- over 2550 in full text -- from 1971 forward.

News

New York Times with index This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) daily reports This link opens in a new window
Covering 1941-1996

China Daily
This is the online edition of China Daily newspaper. This newspaper also offers US news edition link.
Focus Taiwan news channel (Central News Agency. Taiwan)
Cover local and international news in Chinese, English, Japanese and Spanish every day to the media and the public.
Korean Central News Agency 조선중앙통신 Chosŏn T'ongsinsa (朝鮮中央通信)
Korean Central News Agency, established in 1946, is the state news agency of DPRK (Democratic People's Republic of Korea).
more...less...
Chosŏn Chungangt'ongsin; Chosŏn T'ongsinsa; Joseon Tongsinsa;

Off campus access

Almost all of the library databases can be accessed off-campus. When you access from off-campus, connect to the KU Anywhere VPN (Virtual Private Network) to access these databases. If you don't have the KU Anywhere VPN installed, please see https://technology.ku.edu/services/virtual-lab for more information. Find help at https://technology.ku.edu/remote-working-teaching offered by KUIT.

Other Articles & Databases

Also consult subject guides for China, Japan, and Korea for language databases and course guides for research help.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of articles on business and management from U.S. and international professional publications, academic journals, trade magazines, and regional business publications. Full-text articles are available for a significant portion of journals indexed. The subscription includes access to ABI/INFORM Dateline, Global, Trade & Industry, and Archive.
Anthropology plus This link opens in a new window
This database contains anthropological literature from Harvard University and the Royal Anthropological Institute in the United Kingdom. Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.
Art full text This link opens in a new window
Contains indexing and abstracting dating from 1984 for more than 600 periodicals and 13,000 dissertations on the subjects of art, architecture, urban planning, & design; journals are primarily but not exclusively English-language; full-text articles from over 300 journals dating from 1995; also indexes nearly 200,000 art reproductions that appear as illustrations for articles or advertisements. Can be combined with Art Index Retrospective to extend coverage to 1929.
Digital dictionary of Buddhism This link opens in a new window
Muller's Digital Dictionary of Buddhism (DDB) is a compilation of Buddhist terms and texts--as well as names of temples, schools, and people--found in East Asian Buddhist canonical sources. The dictionary project, which began in 1986, is thought to be the most comprehensive compilation of Buddhist terms available in English today.
Emerging markets information services (EMIS) This link opens in a new window
This database includes full-text primary news sources, financial data, statistics, and legal information. A multilingual collection of news and information sources about the emerging markets of selected countries in Latin America, Europe, Asia, the Middle East, and North Africa. KU Libraries subscription includes access to the EMIS (Emerging Markets Information Service) product only.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (1–4) This link opens in a new window
An archival research of U.S. and British trade magazines covering film, music, radio, and theater for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries. This database covers the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. It also includes film fan magazines and music titles.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
This database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Ethnic newswatch This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America from 1959 to present.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
The FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals indexes 300 academic and popular film journals, from 1972 to the present.
Screen Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to the catalogs of the American Film Institute (AFI Catalog) from 1893-1958 and the British Film Institute (Film Index International) from 1961-1970. The Film Index International indexes films released from 1900 to the present. Records include information detailing the director, full cast and crew lists, year of release and production information. Credits, awards and a synopsis are also included. Person records include complete biographical information, a list of awards received, and a complete list of the subject's films.
Films on demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a web-based digital video delivery service that allows users to view streaming videos from Films Media Group 24/7. Choose from more than 5,500 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, personalize folders and manage their entire collection through an administrative reporting system.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) daily reports This link opens in a new window
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report has been the United States' principal historical record of political open source intelligence for nearly 70 years. The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories.
Historical abstracts This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database of world history from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracts, and selected full-text from many sources, covering film, theatre, dance, stagecraft, television, and more. Full-text ranges from 1864 to the present. (Restricted to 4 simultaneous users.)
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
A searchable database that provides online access to current issues of selected scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. A list of the journals contained in this database can be found at the Project Muse homepage.
World news connection This link opens in a new window
Provides timely and pertinent open-source material from non-U.S. media sources. Material provided to the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) by analysts from the Open Source Center's (OSC) domestic and overseas bureaus. Successor to the daily reports from the Foreign Broadcasting Information Service (FBIS) and reports from the Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) . Content focuses primarily on military, political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and is compiled from non-U.S. media sources. WNC is the only news service that allows you to take advantage of the intelligence gathering experience of OSC.