This guide provides links to copyright resources at KU, including a presentation on Copyright & Online Courses, as well as other helpful links. Contact the KU Libraries for assistance with copyright questions.
Last Updated: Nov 19, 2013
KU Libraries’ Office of Scholarly Communication & Copyright is happy to assist KU faculty, staff, and students with questions concerning copyright and fair use of copyrighted materials, in consultation with the KU Office of the General Counsel as needed. Contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org for assistance.
Information Technology responds to inquiries regarding possible Digital Millenium Copyright Act (DMCA) violations. The Office of the General Counsel deals with policy issues regarding intellectual property, trademarks, and copyright and provides legal advice to faculty and staff working within the course and scope of their jobs. For more information, see the links to their websites at the bottom of this page.
- Copyright Decision Tree
This copyright decision tree, in the form of an interactive slide show, is designed to help users decide whether they are using copyrighted materials in compliance with U.S. copyright law and/or fair use.
- Copyright Information for Instructors and Students (KU Libraries)
This resource from the KU Libraries contains links to some helpful resources for copyright issues at KU.
- Acceptable Use of Educational Technologies: Guidelines for Faculty and Staff (University of Kansas)
This document summarizes policy information and other resources for faculty and staff teaching at KU, including those using Blackboard for their courses. The following topics are included:
- Appropriate images and content
- Intellectual Property
- KU Trademarks/logos
- Digital Copyright Slider (American Library Association)
The American Library Association’s Digital Copyright Slider is a tool used to help you determine whether a work is copyrighted or in the public domain.
- Using Google to find web content that is free to use
Searching by "Usage rights" on Google's Advanced Search and Advanced Image Search pages can help you find images and other web content that can be used in your work, provided the source of the content is credited.
- Fair Use Checklist (Columbia University)
The Fair Use Checklist, created by Columbia University's Copyright Advisory Office, is used by scholars to help them determine whether their use of copyrighted material falls within the Fair Use provisions of U.S. copyright law.
- Copyright & Online Courses Presentation
Copyright & Online Courses presentation by Rachel Rolf, Associate Counsel, Office of the General Counsel and Marianne Reed, KU Libraries Center for Digital Scholarship. This KU ScholarWorks record contains the video recording and the slides from the presentation.
- Columbia University Copyright Advisory Office web site
The Columbia University Copyright Advisory Office has a great web site dealing with copyright issues. Their resources include the Fair Use Checklist (linked above), used by scholars to help them determine for themselves whether a use of copyrighted material falls within the Fair Use provisions of U.S. copyright law.
- Stanford University Libraries Copyright & Fair Use web site
This is another great web site that contains a lot of good information for those that are interested in copyright issues.
- Copyright for Librarians (Harvard University)
This resource is a self-guided course about copyright that consists of several modules:
Module 1: Copyright and the Public Domain
Module 2: The International Framework
Module 3: The Scope of Copyright Law
Module 4: Rights, Exceptions, and Limitations
Module 5: Managing Rights
Module 6: Creative Approaches and Alternatives
Module 7: Enforcement
Module 8: Traditional Knowledge
Module 9: Activism
- Copyright for Librarians Textbook (Harvard University)
The self-guided course, Harvard University Copyright for Librarians, linked above, is now available in a freely downloadable textbook format. Select "download for free" on the page to get a PDF copy of the textbook. The textbook is available in several languages. Printed copies can also be purchased online from the page.
- Creative Commons licensing
CC licenses can often be added to work like syllabi and other course materials created by the instructor.
Creative Commons Licenses:
– Show how you have chosen to share YOUR creations and scholarship
– Determine what you are allowed to do with other authors’ creations and scholarship
- International Copyright Quick Reference Guide
International copyright, in a nutshell.
- College Art Association (CAA) Standards and Guidelines
This page contains a great collection of links to copyright resources for artists and those using artistic works for research and scholarship. Explore the Legal Issues and Best Practices sections to find information about copyright and Fair Use of artistic works.
- Free Image Collections
Many museums and governmental agencies are now making digital images of items in their collections freely available to the public, often with unrestricted usage rights. This article is a great guide to these free image collections.
- Visual Resources Association (VRA) Statement on the Fair Use of Images for Teaching, Research, and Study
The Visual Resources Association (VRA) has developed Fair Use guidelines for those using images in teaching and research.
- Collection of Disciplinary Guidelines and Best Practices for Fair Use and Copyright
The Center for Media & Social Impact has collected a list of guidelines and best practices for Fair Use and copyright from a variety of disciplines, including journalism, communication studies, film studies and writers of poetry.
- Office of the General Counsel: Copyright Policy and Intellectual Property Issues at KU
The website of the Office of the General Counsel contains guidance and information about KU policy resources for intellectual property, including trademarks and copyright.
- Information Technology: Digital Millenium Copyright Act (DMCA) information
At the University of Kansas, Information Technology is the Designated Agent for responding to DMCA complaints.