KU Library Catalog
KU Catalog Search collections available in all library locations at the Univ. of Kansas.
Other Library Catalogs
WorldCat, Includes millions of records describing items owned by OCLC member libraries, including the KU Libraries.
Catalog for the Hatch Reading Room, Located on the top floor of Marvin Hall, this is a non-circulating collection of over 4,000 books, 30 ongoing magazine subscriptions, and a small collection of maps.
Catalog for the Kansas State University Library, KSU's Paul Weigel Library of Architecture, Planning & Design, located in Manhattan, is a nearby architectural library.
Lawrence Public Library in Lawrence, KS Located at 7th & Vermont, this public library has a good art collection.
Starting Points
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, The most comprehensive index to journal literature in architecture, urban design, historic preservation, and urban planning history covering more than 700 U.S. and foreign journals. Updated weekly.
RIBA British Architectural Library. Catalogue. Includes an index to over 300 architectural periodicals held in the Royal Institute of British Architects as well as the catalog to the library's collection, the photograph collection, the drawing collection, the manuscript collection, and a biographical database of architects.
Definitions
Archispeak: an Illustrated Guide to Architectural Design Terms by London; New York, NY: Spon Press, 2004. An illustrated guide that will help people understand and communicate the the specialized language of architecture.- Decoding Theoryspeak: An Illustrated Guide to Architectural Theory byAbingdon, Oxon; New York, NY: Routledge, 2011 Introduces over 200 specialized terms from design and theory; entries start with relevant quotations from established practitioners and dictionaries, and often include small black-and-white photos and diagrams.
Ask a Librarian
We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.