Databases at KU
- America: history and life This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts the world's scholarly literature in the history of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.
- Early encounters in North America : peoples, cultures, and the environment This link opens in a new windowThis database documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. It makes available a collection of published and unpublished accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters that document the first impressions of North America by Europeans and of Europeans by native people. The collection includes primary materials, images, environmental studies and maps that researchers and students would otherwise struggle to obtain. Indexing included.
- Ethnic NewswatchProvides full text access to articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America.
- Ethnic Newswatch, a HistoryProvides full text access to articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America from 1959 to 1989.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set at KU
- U.S. Congressional serial set (Readex) This link opens in a new windowThe U.S. Congressional Serial Set, commonly referred to as the Serial Set, contains the House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports bound by session of Congress. It began publication with the 15th Congress, 1st Session (1817). In general, it includes: committee reports related to bills and other matters, presidential communications to Congress, treaty materials, certain executive department publications, and certain non-governmental publications.
Annual Reports of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs
The Annual Reports of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs were published from 1825-1960?. The titles varied over the years so that can be tricky to find. Here at KU we have electronic access for the reports from 1825-???? in the United States Congressional Serial Set and print volumes from 18??-19?? shelved at SuDoc I 20.1:(year).
To easily locate the report from 1825-1920 see the list provided in the article:
J.A. Jones, Key to the Annual Reports of the United States Commissioner of Indian Affairs, Ethnohistory, vol. 2, no. 1 (Winter, 1955), pp. 58-64.
Books at KU
- Handbook of North American IndiansThis multi-volume guide by William S. Sturtevant is published by the Smithsonian Institution. Available at Anschutz Library-Reference collection SI 1.20/2:
- Guide to American Indian documents in the Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1899Available at Anschutz Library at KF8201.A1 J63
Additional resources
- List of Publications of the Bureau of American EthnographyTable of contents to over 100 years of bulletins. Available in print at the Anschutz Library and online through the U.S. Congressional Serial Set.
- American Memory ProjectProvides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
