History 696 - Spring 2010
This guide is designed to find primary government information (publications and records) for History 696--Topics in the History of the U.S. & the World, 1947-1970. Instructor, Sheyda Jahanbani.
This guide is for items in the Federal Depository Library collection as well as licensed databases and microform collections. Many of these resources are not cataloged in the KU Online Catalog.
Please do not hesitate to ask for assistance.
Government Information -- Primary Reosurce 1945-1970
This guide is intended to target starting points based on the three themes noted in the class syllabus.
As you develop your research project and have more specific research problems and need additional assistance please set up a one-on-one consultation.
General Theme: "Atomic Culture" and the Cold War at Home
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing for published congressional hearings distributed to depository libraries (many held by KU and shelved by Sudoc number in the Anschutz Closed Stacks through 1970.) and also unpublished hearings (microfiche set in Anshutz.) Please ask for assistance.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowFull Text of several government publications of interest to this class. These include the Congressional Record, Public Papers fo the President and Foreign Relations of the United States.
- U.S. Congressional serial set (Readex) This link opens in a new windowFull text of the Serial Set which is the compliation of the congressional publications: House Documents, House Misc. Documents, House Reports, Senate Documents Senate Treaty Documents and Senate Reports.
- Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1895-1976Searchable electronic version of the indexing provided by the Government Printing Office to all items cataloged by GPO. Great source for finding agency publications. Items shelved by SuDoc classification number and located in Anschutz 1 North or the Anschutz Closed Stacks.
- Declassified Documents Reference SystemPaper indexes located in Anshutz Reference and the microfiche is located in Anshutz 1 North. Please ask for assistance.
General Theme: Nuclear Politics and/or Policy
- Digital National Security ArchiveProvide full text to declassified documents around various national security themes.
- JPRS (Joint Publications Research Service)"a government agency which translates foreign language books, newspapers, journals, unclassified foreign documents and research reports. ...JPRS is the largest single producer of English language translations in the world. More than 80,000 reports have been issued since 1957, and currently JPRS produces over 300,000 pages of translations per year."
Please ask for assistance. - United Nations Treaty CollectionAll member nations deposity a copy of their treaties since the esablishment of the United Nations.
- CIA Documents on the Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962Example of a thematic collection of declassified documents made available by a agency or other government office.
U.S. and the "Third World"
- FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service)Translations of international news and broadcast from around the world. Please ask for assistance.
- Foreign Relations of the United StatesPaper collections shelved in Anshutz 1 North, Sudoc number S 1.1:
Digital copy availalbe via HeinOnline. Some libraries have also digitized the set and are accessable via the internet.
