Current Information
Planetizen: the Planning and Development Network, A public-interest information exchange for the urban planning and development community. ...a daily, one-stop source for urban planning news, job opportunities, commentary and events.
Smart Growth Online, Web-based catalogue of smart growth related news, events, information and resources. Developed through a cooperative agreement between the US Environmental Protection Agency and the Sustainable Communities Network, this tool is designed to advance public understanding of smart growth and how growth can improve community livability.
Podcasts
APA Podcasts, Initiated in 2010 by the American Planning Association, this free service offers listeners a selection of short talk-radio-style programs focusing on built community issues. Episodes range from ten minutes to over one hour in length.
Case Studies
Urban Land Institute Case Studies, ULI Case Studies showcase innovative approaches and best practices in real estate and urban development. Each case study provides detailed information about the ideas, plans, performance, and lessons learned for an exemplary and often award-winning development project. Each also includes project facts, timelines, financial data, site plans, and photos. ULI Case Studies are currently offered on two separate platforms—archive case studies include projects from 1985-2009 and recent case studies are projects from 2013-.
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
The Encyclopedia of Housing by Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 1998. This encyclopedia provides more than 500 entries, from abandonment to zoning, with entries that go beyond merely providing definitions of housing topics: they describe, elaborate, and critically assess issues of relevance to a wide variety of readers.- Encyclopedia of the City byLondon; New York: Routledge, 2005. This book presents descriptions of features of the urban built environment as well as definitions of urban theories and concepts.
- Encyclopedia of Urban America: the Cities and Suburbs bySanta Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1998. Analyzes urban America in a series of 547 signed articles. Includes biographical articles and topical entries with a bibliography following each article, and extensive 9-page selected bibliography on urban America at the end.
A Field Guide to Sprawl by New York: W.W. Norton, 2004. Through text and crisp illustrations, this book provides a guide not only to sprawl but also to the powerful political and financial forces that sustain it.
Key Concepts in Urban Studies by ISBN: 0761940987London; Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, 2005. Reference guide for basic concepts across the urban disciplines within sociology, political science, planning and geography.
The Language of Towns & Cities: a Visual Dictionary by Both a richly detailed glossary of more than 700 words and terms commonly used in architecture and urban planning, and a compendium of great visual interest.- The Latest Illustrated Book of Development Definitions byNew expanded ed. New Brunswick, NJ: Center for Urban Policy Research, 2004. Offers approximately 1,955 definitions, 787 commentaries, and 102 illustrations, with a special focus on terms useful in zoning and development ordinances.
- A Planners Dictionary byChicago: American Planning Association. Planning Advisory Service, 2004. This revised edition of the Glossary of Zoning, Development, and Planning Terms (1999) contains more than 4200 terms used by planners around the nation.
- Transportation Planning Handbook by3rd ed. Washington, DC: Institute of Transportation Engineers, 2009. A reference tool intended for transportation professionals, students & general readers. This edition has 21 chapters each covering basic information, applications, strategies & solutions.
Web Directories
Web directories organize websites by category and subcategory and are assembled by specialists in the subject field.
Cyburbia: the Planning Community, Free but you must Register to use. A portal site for urban planners and others interested in cities and the built environment, contains a selective directory of Internet resources relevant to planning and urbanism. Cyburbia also includes information about mailing lists and newsgroups, and it hosts a very active bulletin board and image hosting gallery.
Sapling: Urban Design Gateway, Features reviewed links to urban design-related educations, organizations, products, research, places, and resources and services on the web. UK based.