Encyclopedias
Africana : the encyclopedia of the African and African-American experience by Call Number: Internet resource (also available in paper: DT14 .A37435 2005 Watson Reference)ISBN: 0465000711Publication Date: 1999-10-27
New Encyclopedia of Africa by Call Number: DT2 .N48 2008ISBN: 9780684314549Publication Date: 2007-10-08
Encyclopedia of Africa by Call Number: DT3 .E53 2010 (3 vols., Watson Stacks)ISBN: 0195337700Publication Date: 2010-02-17
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa by Call Number: DS43 .E53 2004ISBN: 0028657691Publication Date: 2004-06-01
General Reference Databases
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowProvides online access to a wide variety of reference materials. Includes such subjects as history, biography, literature, medicine, health, sociology and education. Includes such sources as the International encyclopedia of the social sciences, Black literary criticism, Encyclopedia of world biography, and the World encyclopedia of the nations.
- Britannica online This link opens in a new windowProvides coverage and integrated searching of the following encyclopedias and multiple reference tools: Encyclopaedia Britannica; Britannica Student Encyclopedia; Britannica Internet Guide; Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary; Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Thesaurus; and World Atlas.
- African Studies CompanionA comprehensive guide to research sources on all aspects of African studies, regularly updated.
Biographical Sources
- African Biographical Dictionary"Brings together cultural, social and political leaders—both historical and contemporary—of the sub-Saharan region"--Publisher's note.
