Reference Titles
Cambridge history of ancient China [electronic resource] : from the origins of civilization to 221 B.C. by ISBN: 9780511467363(ebook)This survey of the cultural history of pre-imperial China covers over 1000 years, giving 2 chapters for each time period included. Scholars, students and general readers with no special knowledge of Chinese history will be interested in this book.
Chinese history : a new manual by Call Number: DS735 .W695 2012 (East Asian Reference)ISBN: 0674002474(alk.paper)Publication Date: 2012Cambridge, MA : Harvard University Asia Center, 2012.
Harvard-Yenching Institue monograph series ; 84
The latest edition. An annotated bibliography and research guide. The first section provides an introduction to Chinese history, and the methods of Chinese historiography. The remainder of the book describes the primary and secondary sources of historical documents, categorising them by genre, era and topic. Some 4,300 sources and references are described, from pre-Qin periods to the modern era.
Chinese studies : a bibliographic manual by Call Number: Z3106 .W64ISBN: 0896446271Publication Date: 1981
A companion to Chinese archaeology [electronic resource by Publication Date: Chichester ; Malden, Mass. : Wiley-Blackwell, 2013.Wiley-Blackwell Companions to Anthropology : Companion to Chinese Archaeology
Excavations (Archaeology) --China.
Antiquities, Prehistoric --China.
China --Antiquities.
Early Chinese texts : a bibliographical guide by Call Number: Z1035.8.C5 E2 1993ISBN: 1557290431Publication Date: 1993
Introduction to Research in Chinese Source Materials by Call Number: Z3106 .C64 2000ISBN: 0887102131Publication Date: 2000This book is a concise and thorough guide for basic research in Chinese sources. Designed as a tool for both primary and secondary texts, it reviews terminology, modes of organization, and cultural implications that are relevant to Chinese writings in the humanities and social sciences.
Sources of Chinese Tradition by Call Number: DS721 .D37 1960ISBN: 0231022557Publication Date: 1964-02-01A collection of primary readings on the social, intellectual, and religious traditions of China, Volume 1 has been widely used and praised for almost forty years as an authoritative resource for scholars and students and as a thorough and engaging introduction for general readers… The first part, The Chinese Tradition in Antiquity, considers the early development of Chinese civilization and includes selections from Confucius's "Analects," the texts of Mencius and Laozi, as well as other key texts from the Confucian, Daoist, and Legalist schools. Part 2, The Making of a Classical Culture, focuses on Han China with readings from the "Classic of Changes" ( "I Jing"), the "Classic of Filially," major Han syntheses, and the great historians of the Han dynasty. The development of Buddhism, from the earliest translations from Sanskrit to the central texts of the Chan school (which became Zen in Japan), is the subject of the third section of the book. Titled Later Daoism and Mahayana Buddhism in China, this part also covers the teachings of Wang Bi, Daoist religion, and texts of the major schools of Buddhist doctrine and practice. The final part, The Confucian Revival and Neo-Confucianism, details the revival of Confucian thought in the Tang, Song, and Ming periods, with historical documents that link philosophical thought to political, social, and educational developments in late imperial China.” http://books.google.com/books?vid=ISBN0231109393&id=dVp3LsLsr9oC&dq=De+Bary,+William+Sources+of+chinese+tradition
Paul Goldin Bibliographies (U. Penn) with author's permission
Very useful bibliograprhies for research in Chinese history. All in PDF format, compiled by Dr. Paul R. Goldin from his U Penn web site. First link points to the web site and the other links are bibliographies.
- Paul Goldin Website (U.Penn)Check this link for the most current updates of all bibliography lists. Important bibliographies and resources for research in Chinese history. Titles on ancient Chinese civilization are listed in the middle box for quick access.
- Ancient Chinese Civilization: Bibliography of Materials in Western Languages (sign-in is required)Includes books and articles. October 08, 2014 (updated regularly)
- Ancient Chinese Manuscripts: Bibliography of Materials in Western Languages (ca. 300 items)October 8, 2014. This bibliography contains approximately 300 items. Please do not hesitate to inform the compiler of errors or omissions, which are inevitable in a project of this scope. For the sake of concision, anthologies of papers by a single author are listed only once, under title of the volume. (The original bibliographical information of any articles revised or reprinted in such anthologies is omitted, as are the original details of articles that were later expanded into or incorporated within a book by the same author.) Book reviews, articles in encyclopedias and newsletters, exhibition catalogs, and unscholarly works for popular audiences are not normally included.
Recommended Books
The Archaeology of China by Call Number: GN855.C6 L64 2012ISBN: 0521643104Publication Date: 2012"Past, present and future "The archaeological materials recovered from the Anyang excavations ... in the period between 1928 and 1937...have laid a new foundation for the study of ancient China (Li, C. 1977: ix)
The art of the Yellow Springs : understanding Chinese tombs by Call Number: DS719 .W78 2010ISBN: 9780824834265Publication Date: Honolulu : University of Hawai’i Press, c2010.Tombs --China --History. Sepulchral monuments --China --History. Grave goods --China --History. Architecture, Chinese. Art, Chinese. Cosmology, Chinese. China --Antiquities.
A biographical dictionary of the Qin, former Han and Xin periods, 221 BC - AD 24 by Call Number: DS747.38 .L63 2000ISBN: 9004103643Publication Date: 2000
A bronze menagerie : mat weights of early China by Call Number: NK7983.2 .W36 2006 (Art & Architecture Library)ISBN: 9780914660255Publication Date: Boston, Mass. : Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum ; [Pittsburgh, Pa.] : Distributed by University of PCatalog of an exhibition held at the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum, Boston, Oct. 5, 2006-Jan. 14, 2007.Exhibition site
The Cambridge history of China by Call Number: DS735 .C3145ISBN: 0521214475Publication Date: 1978The Cambridge history of China. Vol. 1, The Ch’in and Han Empires, 221 B.C.-A.D. 220 [electronic resource] / general editors, Denis Twitchett and John K. Fairbank.
The Cradle of the East: an inquiry into the indigenous origins of techniques and ideas of Neolithic and early historic China, 5000-1000 B.C. by Call Number: DS741 .H57 1975ISBN: 9780226345246Publication Date: 1976-03-01Hong Kong : Chinese University of Hong Kong ; Chicago : University of Chicago Press.
Early Chinese literature by Call Number: PL2280 .W3 1962 East Asian ReferenceISBN: 0231086717Publication Date: 1962This book is intended to answer some of the questions a general reader might be expected to have concerning early Chinese literature, its major forms, its themes, its particular characteristics, and its works of distinction.
895.109 W331e 1962 Watson
Early Chinese medical literature : the Mawangdui medical manuscripts by Call Number: R127.1 .H37 1998ISBN: 978-1138968080Publication Date: London ; New York : Kegan Paul International ; New York : Distributed by Columbia University Press,Includes bibliographical references (p. [454]-475) and indexes.
Texts of medical manuscripts translated from Chinese.
Early Chinese Religion: Part One: Shang Through Han (1250 BC-220 AD) by Call Number: BL1803 .E27 2009ISBN: 9789004168350Publication Date: Leiden ; Boston : Brill, 2009-
Food in Chinese Culture: anthropological and historical perspectives by Call Number: GT2853.C6 F66ISBN: 0300019386Publication Date: New Haven : Yale University Press, 1977.
Food, Sacrifice, and Sagehood in Early China by Call Number: BL1859.F66 S74 2011ISBN: 9781107001718Publication Date: New York : Cambridge University Press, 2011.
Iron and Steel in Ancient China by Call Number: DS715 .W24 1993ISBN: 9004096329Publication Date: Leiden, Netherlands ; New York : E.J. Brill, 1993.Includes bibliographical references (p. [485]-552) and index.
New sources of early Chinese history : an introduction to the reading of inscriptions and manuscripts by Call Number: DS741.15 .N48 1997ISBN: 155729058XPublication Date: 1997
Science and civilisation in China. Vol.6. Pt.6, Biology and biological technology. Medicine by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780511155352Publication Date: Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2000.Technology -- China -- History. Science -- China -- History. Science and civilization. Technology and civilization. China -- Civilization.
The search for immortality : tomb treasures of Han China by Call Number: DS748.13 .S43 2012ISBN: 9780300184341Publication Date: [Cambridge, U.K.] : Fitzwilliam Museum, University of Cambridge ; New Haven [Conn.] : in associationExhibition: http://www.tombtreasuresofhanchina.org/
The shorter Columbia anthology of traditional Chinese literature by Call Number: PL2658.E1 S53 2000ISBN: 0231119984Publication Date: 2000
Text and ritual in early China [electronic resource] by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: Seattle : University of Washington Press, 2007, c2005.
Way and the Word : Science and Medicine in Early China and Greece by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780300129168Publication Date: New Haven : Yale University Press, c2002.Medicine, Chinese. Appendix: Evolution of the Chinese cosmological synthesis
KU Library Catalog and the WorldCat
KU Library Catalog: Search Help
WorldCat Includes millions of records describing items owned by OCLC member libraries, including the KU Libraries.
DuXiu 读秀 meta search engine (2 million Chinese ebooks and etexts)
