This is the "Reference Shelf" page of the "English 571: American Indian Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Admin Sign In 

English 571: American Indian Literature  Tags: american_literature literature american_indian_literature indigenous_writers  

Guide to resources of interest for "Indigenous Writers Re-Visioning History"
Last update: Oct 08th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.ku.edu/eng571  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference Shelf             Print Page
  

Why Reference?

Question: What value lies in a reference work? Why, for example, would a researcher bother to consult a scholarly encyclopedia?

Answer: Reference books help researchers contextualize their topics and in turn begin to ask the right questions. Reference books set the stage for more efficient database searching; researchers cannot elicit relevant search results if they don't know which keywords (or search terms) to use.

Scholarly reference books also contain bibliographies that lead researchers to the most respected secondary and most useful primary sources on a topic.

In short, reference books are a great way to begin your research.

Johns Hopkins Guide

 


The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism contains contextual info on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.

 

Oxford English Dictionary

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is the guide to the meaning, history, pronunciation, and variant spellings of words, both present and past.

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online is a collection of core reference materials across numerous subject areas. 

     

Cambridge Histories Online

Cambridge Histories Online contains volumes from the various well-known Cambridge Histories. 

       

Literature Online (LION)

Literature Online (LION) contains a small collection of literary reference materials. Search or browse the Criticism & Reference section.

     

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageJulie Buchsbaum
Contact Info:
Watson Library
1425 Jayhawk Blvd., Room 350
Lawrence KS 66045-7544
(785) 864-8982
jbuchs@ku.edu

Subjects:
English, Philosophy, Classics, Book Reviews

Get Started Here

 

Description

  Loading content... please wait