KU Library Catalog
KU Catalog, Search collections available in all library locations at the Univ. of Kansas
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Oxford Art Online, Gateway access to Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources. Includes more than 23,000 subject entries and 21,000 biographies, and 40,000 image links.
ArtLex: A Dictionary of Visual Art Terminology, Definitions along with thousands of supporting images, pronunciation notes, quotations and cross-references.
Articles in Journals
To learn of an article in a journal on a topic that you are researching, you may need to use an index or bibliography. These tools can be searched like the Library Catalog using names, keywords, phrases, word combinations, etc. Different indexes may present the information in a variety of formats so you need to read the page carefully to determine how to proceed. Some indexes will only provide a CITATION to the article while others may provide a full-text version. If there is only a citation, look for the 
symbol to learn if there is a full-text online version, a paper copy in the library, or, if KU does not own, an option to borrow through Interlibrary Loan.
Academic Search Complete Indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals, with full text for more than 8,750 of those titles, over a broad spectrum of subjects.
Wilson OmniFile Full Text Select Provides indexing, abstracting and full-text content to journal articles in a variety of disciplines.
JSTOR (To access PDF articles, your browser must allow pop-ups for this site) Provides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Art Index Indexes articles and illustrations in 313 international art, architecture and design periodicals from 1984-present.
ArtBibliographies Modern Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art with an emphasis on 20th & 21st century art.
Bibliography of the History of Art Indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and periodical articles. Also includes the contents of two predecessor art indexes: Répertoire d'Art et d'Archéologie (1973-1989) and International Repertory of the Literature of Art (1975-1989).
Anthropology Plus, Provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.
Textbooks
Art History by 5th ed. Boston: Pearson, 2014. A global history of art from prehistoric times to the present. Stokstad is an emeritus Distinguished Professor of Art History at the Univ. of Kansas.
Gardner's Art Through the Ages by 14th ed. Australia; United States: Wadsworth, Cengage Learning, 2013. An introductory textbook to art history.
History of Modern Art: Painting, Sculpture, Architecture, Photography by 6th ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Prentice Hall, c2010. With a readable text and liberal illustrations this title traces the development of trends and influences in painting, sculpture, photography and architecture from the mid-nineteenth- A History of Far Eastern Art by5th ed. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice Hall; New York: H.N. Abrams, 1994. Covers a vast amount of cultures and time periods in an integrated approach with organization by chronology and theme rather than geography.
