Printers / Mobile / ScreenreadersResources for East Asian Studies, and links to China Studies, Japan Studies and Korea Studies.
Last update: Nov 13th, 2009
URL: http://guides.lib.ku.edu/eastasia
Print Guide
- Columbia University
Asia for Educators Online
Site features classroom materials and teaching guides on Asia for use by faculty and students in world history, culture, geography, art, and literature at the undergraduate and pre-college levels. Search for content by subject area, document type, or time period. AFE Online also features several multimedia and image-based units on various Asia-related topics, as well as maps, timelines, primary source readings, and a searchable database of recommended teaching materials from other publishers. AFE Online is an initiative of the East Asian Curriculum Project and the Project on Asia in the Core Curriculum at Columbia University.
- Brown University
Choices for the 21st Century Education Project
A Program of the Thomas J. Watson Jr. Institute for International Studies at Brown University
The site offers curricular resources on public policy issues and professional development programs for high school social studies teachers.
- Indiana University
- Ohio State University
The State of Ohio East Asian Language Learning Environment Enhancement Program
- Stanford University
- University of California at Los Angeles
Asia in the K-12 Curriculum
The UCLA Center for East Asian Studies is working with other UCLA units and several Los Angeles County school districts to develop a web-based distance learning and professional development program to train secondary school teachers in a) the state-mandated integration of Asia-related topics into the social studies and language arts curriculum and b) the use of internet technologies to further engage students in the acquisition and processing of information and in communicating the results of their research.
- University of Illinois
- AEMS K-12 Teaching Resources
Internet resources for Asia, China, Japan and Korea
- Asian Educational Media Service center for East Asian and Pacific Studies (AEMS) is a program of the Center for East Asian and Pacific Studies at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Our mission is to promote understanding of Asian cultures and peoples and to assist teachers at all levels, from elementary schools to colleges and universities, and other individuals and groups, in learning and teaching about Asia
- University of Michigan
Japan Resources and Links
K-12 Resources contains information relevant to teachers who wish to include Japanese content in their curriculum. Contained in this section is information on the Center's JapanKit, the Teachers' Institute in Asian Studies Conference, the Japanese School of Detroit, and various other links to K-12 related web sites with information on Japan.
- University of Pittsburgh
- University of Southern California
School partners network
The School Partners Network is a community of middle and high schools collaborating with the East Asian Studies Center as a university partner and with each other as network partners to explore and develop communications technology.
- University of Texas at Austin
Outreach Asia -- a program of the Center for Asian Studies
provides support services to educators and community members to foster a better understanding of Asia.
- Yale University
Programs in International Educational Resources http://www.yale.edu/ycias/pier/
The Programs in International Educational Resources (PIER) of the Yale Center for International and Area Studies provide programs, information, services, and resources to educators at the K-12 and college levels, businesses, the media, and the general public to improve the understanding of international issues and critical world regions - Africa, Asia, Latin America, the middle East, and Russia and Eastern Europe.
- Asia Society
- Asia Society Education Initiatives
AsiaSociety.org offers a wide range of services including roundtable discussions, annotated links to hundreds of resources on Asia, and Special Reports on pressing topics of the day.
- Ask Asia
Asia Society's AskAsia is an exciting, informative on-line source K-12 Asian and Asian American studies. Through the Internet, AskAsia offers easy, 24 hours access to high-quality, classroom-tested resources and cultural information, engaging games and activities, and links to relevant people, places, and institutions.
Established 1956, it is America's premier Asian cultural and educational institution. A national nonprofit, nonpartisan educational organization, the Society provides a forum for building awareness of the more than thirty countries broadly defined as the Asia-Pacific region - the area from Japan to Iran, and from Central Asia to New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific Islands.
- Asia for Kids
A commercial dealer, Asia for Kids offers resources for the home, classroom or library. Its mission is to make the Asian heritage and its diverse languages accessible to everyone interested in learning about Asia. Its collection includes books, language textbooks, videos, audio cassettes, software, CD-ROMs, dolls, games, posters, crafts, T-shirts and resource materials for parents and teachers.
- Awesome Library
Awesome Library organizes the Web with 14,000 carefully reviewed resources, including the top 5 percent in education. Language section includes Chinese, Japanese and Korean resources for teachers , for kids and for teens.
- Education About Asia -- Association for Asian Studies (AAS)
Quarterly publication by the AAS. It is designed to be a tool for K-16 teachers who wish to bring information on Asia to their classrooms. The online site does not cover the actual publication, but has Resource Links and Asia Factoids which are useful to educators.
- Intercultural E-mail Classroom Connections
The IECC (Intercultural E-Mail Classroom Connections) mailing lists are provided by St. Olaf College as a free service to help teachers and classes link with partners in other countries and cultures for e-mail classroom pen-pal and project exchanges.
Many useful links and great ideas for integrating Internet resources with curriculum and (in some of the examples) with current events.
- Internet Resources for Chinese
Many different formats for Chinese text on the Internet (e.g. GB, Big5, Hanzi) are listed. Language-learning software to download is available.
- Kids web Japan -- Japan information network
Kids Web Japan is a site that introduces Japan to school children aged between 10 and 14 who live in other countries. There are many photographs and graphics about Japan.
- Teaching (and Learning) About Japan
by Lee A. Makela "...hypertexted narrative introduction to selected aspects of Japanese civilization and culture."
- World Bank:
Teachers and Students Home Page
Exploring Countries & Region
This web site includes aunnual reports, regional data and issues about courtires around the world.
- Kanas State Department of Education
The Kansas Department of Education's Assessments and Standards page offers standards documents for language arts, math, music, science, and social studies - along with assessments information and results of the 1999 state; tests in math and reading. Each curriculum link leads to a dedicated page containing a copy of the current standards
document (in Adobe Acrobat form) and a slight amount of supplementary material. Publication dates on the standards documents (as of February 2000) were June 1998 for reading and writing, March 1999 for math, August 1998 for music, December 1999 for science, and July 1999 (5th draft) for social studies.
- K-12 from Japan -- Osaka Kyoiku University
Links to the K-12 and related educational information (Schools, Resources and Projects ) in Japan are collected.
- Ministry of Education in Korea
This page includes information on the current state of Korea's Education, MOE's organizations and their functions, major policies, educational financing, and subsidiary and other related organizations. (in Korean)
- Chinese Language Teachers Association, Inc. (CLTA)
CLTA Headquarters
Kalamazoo College
1200 Academy Street
Kalamazoo, MI 49006
USA
Tel: (616) 337-7001
Executive Director
Prof. Madeline Chu
Tel: (616) 337-7325
Email: clta@kzoo.edu
The Chinese Language Teachers Association represents instructors of Chinese language, literature, linguistics and culture at all educational levels throughout the world. The Association is committed to improve the professional status of Chinese language teachers and to promote the teaching of Chinese in colleges and high schools. It sponsors conferences, seminars and workshops for members to exchange ideas on a great variety of topics related to Chinese studies. It publishes The Journal of the Chinese Language Teachers Association (JCLTA) and other occasional publications to reinforce better communication, to enhance better understanding on Chinese culture and to facilitate effective teaching and learning of Chinese language and culture. For contents of the most recent issue, see the JCLTA Table of Contents, for online access to recent reviews of computer-assisted language learning (CALL) software, see Online Reviews: CALL Software for Chinese.
- Chinese Language Association of Secondary-Elementary Schools (CLASS)
The CLASS is to serve as a national nonpolitical and nonprofit professional Association of all persons interested in teaching Chinese. Questions about CLASS in general can be sent to llee@ets.org .
- Association of Teachers of Japanese (ATJ)
A U.S.-based association for teachers of Japanese. The ATJ is an international, non-profit, non-political organization of scholars, teachers, and students of Japanese language, literature, and linguistics, which works to promote academic work in the field and to broaden and deepen knowledge and appreciation of Japan and its culture. It holds an annual meeting in conjunction with the Association for Asian Studies and also cooperates with its sister organization, the National Council of Secondary Teachers of Japanese, in presenting panels at the annual meeting of the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages. It publishes the Journal of the Association of Teachers of Japanese twice each year and the ATJ Newsletter four times annually.
- National Council of Associations of Chinese Language Schools
2765 Evergreen Street
Yorktown Heights
NY 10598
Tel & Fax: 914-962-503