|
Any KU student interested in study abroad in East Asia should contact the country-specific study-abroad advisor in the Department of East Asian Languages and Cultures, and also contact the Study Abroad Office for specific information and advising. This page provides general information about studying and traveling in South Korea. |
|
The Peninsula
- Maps of KoreaCollection of Maps for both North and South Korea of varying types. From the Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection.
- World Factbook: South KoreaFrom the US CIA, covers basic intelligence information publicly available.
- BBC Country Profile: South KoreaFrom Britain's BBC, providing general information with special spotlights on media usage and a country timeline.
- World Factbook: North KoreaFrom the US CIA, covers basic intelligence information publicly available.
- BBC Country profile: North KoreaFrom Britain's BBC, providing general information with special spotlights on media usage and a country timeline.
Suggested Reading
The history of Korea by Call Number: DS907.18 .K5247 2005ISBN: 0313332967Publication Date: 2005This book is a good introduction to the history of Korea with an emphasis on pre-modern history.
Korea’s Twentieth-Century Odyssey by Call Number: DS916 .R63 2007ISBN: 9780824830809This book gives an overview of the modern history of the Korean peninsula.
Land of Morning Calm: Korean Culture Then and Now by ISBN: 1885008228Publication Date: 2003Explore Korean traditions and culture.Lost names; scenes from a Korean boyhood by
Call Number: PS3561.I415 Z5Publication Date: 1970In this classic tale, Richard Kim paints seven vivid scenes from a boyhood and early adolescence in Korea at the height of the Japanese occupation, 1932 to 1945.
Recommended Media
- The glory of Korea byPublication Date: 2004Introduces UNESCO World Heritage sites and entries from Korea.
South Korea: The Silent Cultural Superpower by Part 1. From movies and TV to K-Pop, South Korean culture punches above its weight in East Asia
Part 2. How South Korea's popular culture is leading to a raucous, more individualist culture
- Korean Film IndexThis website gives a full breakdown of Korean cinema, including reviews of new and old Korean movies and TV dramas.
- ArirangPopular Korean news and media website published in English.
Study in Korea
- Department of East Asian Languages and CulturesChinese, Japanese, Korean, Mongolian, Tibetan, Uyghur, etc.
- KU Study Abroad Program: KoreaSearch for "South Korea"
- Financial Aid for Study AbroadScholarship and Financial Aid resources for students planning to study abroad, as provided by the KU International Affairs Office.
- Scholarships for East Asian StudiesScholarships for students planning for East Asian study abroad, provided by the Center for East Asian Studies.
- International InternshipsThe Center for Global & International Studies offers information about international internships which may interest students. This website also has information about funding options for students.
- Korean Program KUExplore the options KU has for Korean language study, including degrees offered and study abroad.
- Korean Government Scholarship for International StudentsThe GKS Degree Program Scholarship is available for undergraduate and graduate students. This website also has information about EPIK (English Program in Korea) and other programs.
Visa Information
Generally US citizens may travel to South Korea for up to 90 days without a visa. Visa requirements may be different for students with other countries of citizenship or purposes of visit.
- Visa Info - Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of KoreaThis website is published by the Korean Ministry of Justice and is very user friendly. Get help finding out which visa is best for you, how to apply, and other information necessary for a successful trip to Korea with a visa.
Learn the Korean Language
- Talk to Me in Korean (TTMIK)Talk to me in Korean has hundreds of free podcast audio lessons with PDF transcripts to help practice Korean language. TTMIK also has a number of publications and other resources.
- How To Study KoreanThis website provides comprehensive instruction on the Korean language from learning Hangul through Korean vocabulary and grammar and into learning Hanja. While this website is not very interactive it has a wealth of information.
- Duolingo - KoreanThis website provides a game-like interface for learning several languages, including Korean. Exercises include translation from English to Korean, Korean to English, matching, transcribing audio, translating audio, and multiple choice.
- Mango Languages Through KUThis website provides self-paced lessons for more than 64 languages, including Korean. Lessons are dialogue-based and all include audio and text.
- KFL textbookThis website provides support in learning Korean including Hangul, by using audio files and lecture slides.
- Korean Culture SeriesThis video series offers connecting Korean language lessons, as well as video culture lessons.
- Kordong SchoolThis website offers video language lectures across levels. While the connected web page offers free lectures, more are available for purchase.
Study Korean language in South Korea
Korean Universities that offer popular study abroad programs:
- Seoul National UniversitySeoul National University is the highest ranking university in the nation, and is located south of the Han river with a large campus.
- Korea UniversityKorea University, located in Anam, is one of the oldest universities in the nation, and as one of the top 5 ranking universities carries significant prestige.
- Ehwa Womans UniversityThis all women's university, located in Shinchon, is a highly prestigious university with a rich history.
- Yonsei UniversityYonsei University, located in Sinchon, has an excellent Korean language education program known for its writing element.
- Sogang UniversitySogang University is located in Sinchon, and has an excellent Korean language education program known for its speaking element.
- Pusan National UniversityPusan National University is located in the coastal city Busan, and offers a unique opportunity for students wishing to study away from Seoul.
- Hallym UniversityHallym University is a private university located in Chuncheon, the capital city of Gangwon Province.
Travel Guides & Blogs
- Official Korea Tourism GuideWell organized website maintained by the Korea Tourism Organization. Contains suggestions for activities and needs travelers may have.
- Wiki-travel Seoul/South KoreaUser contributed website with information about Korea, domestic travel in Korea, and things to do in Korea.
- Lonely Planet South KoreaThis website offers users to look at specific cities or kinds of activities they would like to do. There are also countless articles covering different aspects of Korean culture and activities to learn from.
- Life in Korea GuideThis website offers places to visit by city/province or by interest. The website also has opportunities to learn about the Korean culture and language, and other needs long term travelers might have.
- Discovering KoreaThis blog offers a wide variety of post content and suggested activities/places.
- Asian Wanderlust - Korea BlogThis blog offers a limited number of posts about Korea, but also includes blog posts on other East Asian countries that may be of interest.
- Will Fly for Food - The First-Timer’s Travel Guide to Seoul, South KoreaWhile this blog has a unique focus on food experiences in Korea, it also contains many elements popular in other blogs.
- CNN Travel: KoreaThis site offers guides and stories about traveling Korea.
Lodging & Accommodation
- Hotels.comThis website provides listings for several other housing types in addition to hotels, and offers packages as well.
- Tripadvisor South Korea Hotel ReviewTripadvisor provides tourists' reviews on hotels in South Korea.
- South Korea HostelsThis website shows hostels across South Korea.
- AirbnbThis website helps connects travelers to locals wishing to share their space or specific experiences. Trips can include private or shared homes and short or long stays.
- TrivagoSearch multiple popular hotel websites at once.
- KayakSearch for flights, cars, hotels, or packages. This website is a part of booking.com, which may offer a different user experience.
Transportation
- Korean Transportation SystemThis site gives schedules, maps and useful information about trains, buses, subways, ferries, taxis, and domestic flights in South Korea.
KakaoMaps is an app that may help you find the right form of travel in Korea, whether it is a bus, the subway, or by foot, and is particularly helpful in finding the right but to get where you need to go.
Subway Korea is an app that will offer guided support in using the subway system in Korea, regardless of which major city you are in. Input your first and last stop, and the app will guide you through where to get on and off, how long it should take, and any transfers.
Museums
- National Museum of KoreaLearn more about exhibitions on display and plan your trip to the largest museum in South Korea.
- Lotte World Folk MuseumExplore displays of historical life in Korea, from the prehistoric era to the late Joseon dynasty. Displays include life size and miniature models. This website is only available in Korean, with no English version.
- Museums in South KoreaIf you are looking for more museum visit opportunities please view this website, which includes a list for hundreds of museums in South Korea and links to any appropriate websites.