Architecture Resources: Finding Images

Image Gateway, Included here are licensed commercial sources, publicly available collections, and images digitized from resources in the KU libraries, museums, and academic departments. Information and terms of use for each collection is found in the listing.

ARTstor Help & Tutorial, One of the most comprehensive image resources licensed by KU is ARTstor with more than 1 million images on a wide-range of topics. This guide introduces the resource and helps users learn to find, download, save, print, organize, and share images. 

Copyright Crash Course Prepared by Georgia K. Harper, the Scholarly Communications Advisor for the University of Texas at Austin Library, this site provides basic information on protecting your own work as well as rules for using other's intellectual efforts.

AP images, Contains the archives of the Associated Press. New content is added constantly to news photographs, audio sound bites, and graphics spanning 180 years of history. Formerly called AccuNet/AP multimedia archive.

Images may be found in a variety of formats on publicly accessible web sites. Copyright restrictions may apply to these images, and the web master of a given site may need to be consulted when images are used.  Many large and small museums have excellent web sites which display images from their collections as well as information about the images and contacts for more assistance. The library also has many lavishly illustrated books and journals that are available for research.

Cities/Buildings Database, A collection of over 5000 digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers and educators on the web. The images have been scanned from original slides or drawn from documents in the public domain. Researchers can search for buildings by country, city, style, title, architect, date of construction, as well as other fields.

Oxford Art Online, Gateway access to Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources. In addition to the more than 23,000 subject entries and 21,000 biographies, the product offers 40,000 image links and 5,000 images contained within Grove Art Online.

Built in America: Historic American Building Survey/Historic American Engineering Record, Documents achievements in architecture, engineering, and design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types and engineering technologies. With more than 350,000 measured drawings, large-format photographs, and written histories for more than 35,000 historic structures and sites dating from Pre-Columbian times to the twentieth century.

Digital Archive of American Architecture, 1,500 images of American architecture (280 buildings) plus explanatory material posted by Prof. Jeffery Howe of Boston College.

Digital Archive of Architecture, Images of Prehistoric through 20th century European architecture posted by Prof. Jeffery Howe of Boston College.

Architecture and Interior Design for 20th century America: 1935-1955. This Library of Congress collection includes digitized photographs of buildings primarily from the Northeastern United States.

Archivision Architectural Images.  The Archivision Digital Research Library is currently comprised of 65,000 images of architecture, archeological sites, gardens, parks, and works of art with broad appeal in humanities teaching.  The Library is divided into modules and spans the globe and all time periods, with each module offering a mix of historic and contemporary material. 

Digital Images Collection Guide A directory of Digital Image projects organized by topic such as Architecture or Landscape Architecture.