KU Library Catalog
KU Catalog Search collections available in all library locations at the Univ. of Kansas
Other Library Catalogs
WorldCat Includes millions of records describing items owned by OCLC member libraries, including the KU Libraries.
Catalog for the Spencer Art Library at the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art Located in Kansas City, MO, this art research library is open to the public but must be used on-site. The hours are listed on the library website.
Lawrence Public Library in Lawrence, KS Located at 7th & Vermont, this public library has a good art collection.
Terminology
Starting Points
Art Full Text Contains indexing and abstracting dating from 1984 for more than 600 periodicals and 13,000 dissertations on the subjects of art, architecture, urban planning, & design; journals are primarily but not exclusively English-language; full-text articles from over 300 journals dating from 1995; also indexes nearly 200,000 art reproductions that appear as illustrations for articles or advertisements. Can be combined with Art Index Retrospective to extend coverage to 1929.
ARTbibliographies Modern Citations and abstracts for 20th and 21st century art and artists plus photography since its invention in 1839; covers journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews; coverage from 1974.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), citations with abstracts on a range of art; ceased in 2008.
International Bibliography of Art, coverage begins in 2008 and includes the literature documenting European art from late antiquity, American art from the colonial era, and global art since 1945.
Oxford Art Online An encyclopedia of art information and a good starting point for research. Allows simultaneous searching of Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Content includes biographies, subject entries, bibliographies, images, and learning resources. Articles are signed by recognized scholars.
Overviews
Look!: the Fundamentals of Art History by Call Number: N 345.D26 20103rd ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Prentice Hall, c2010. Introduces the methodologies of art history; discusses basic art historical practices, such as visual and contextual analysis, and provides guidelines for writing papers and taking examinations in art history.
History of Art by Call Number: N380 .P56 20145th ed. London: Routledge, 2014. Introduces students to the practices, challenges, questions and writings encountered in studying Art History.
Learning to Look at Sculpture by Call Number: NB1142.5 .A29 2014London: Routledge, 2014. A guide to the study and understanding of three dimensional art. Explores Western sculpture with over 200 images of work from antiquity through to the present day.
Learning to Look at Paintings by Call Number: ND1143 .A38 2009London; New York: Routledge, 2009. 2nd ed. Composition, space, form, tone, color, subject-matter, and other pictorial elements of the plastic arts are considered and their interrelationships explained in this handy introduction, with over 90 well-chosen illustrations.
Web Directories
Websites organized by category and subcategory assembled by specialists in the subject field.
ART-Guide A collection of Art History Internet Resources from the Univ. of Heidelberg providing access to art history websites, such as subject gateways, image databases, search engines, or mailing lists. The collection covers the full range of European medieval, modern, and contemporary art history, and Aesthetics
Art History Resources on the Web Directory of art history links organized by time period and location. Extensive list of links to museums and galleries section organized by country.
Voice of the Shuttle Directory of websites related to the Humanities with divisions such as Architecture Art (Modern & Contemporary), Art History, etc.
Ask a Librarian
We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.