Slavic & Eurasian Studies
Watson Library - Level 5 East
University of Kansas
1425 Jayhawk Blvd, Rm 519
Lawrence, KS 66045
Find Books
Click INFO buttons below for details about databases.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowIf you do not find what you are looking for in the KU Library Catalog, search Worldcat. A union catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Over 180 million records for books, websites, computer programs, films, journals, magazines, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings, video recordings. Records in 400 languages. Restricted to 25 simultaneous users.
- KU Ermal Garinger Academic Resource Center (EGARC) CatalogFor multi-media materials (VHS, DVD, and cassettes) and equipment. In addition to housing a collection of approximately 12,000 audio and video items in over 60 languages, the Center contains three computer labs, a media-enhanced conference room, a soundproofed recording studio, and a viewing area for small groups.
Find Articles: Top Databases for History 117
Where to start? Search the four databases in this box. They are a combination of full-text and citation databases that will lead you to a wealth of commentary (secondary sources) on Russian literature. [FYI: ABSEES, Historical Abstracts, and Academic Search Premier can be searched simultaneously.]
Click INFO buttons below for details about databases.
- Article FirstContains bibliographic citations that describe items listed on the table of contents pages of more than 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. Offers the full text of some articles.
- International medieval bibliography This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 450-1500 for Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa. (Restricted to 3 simultaneous users.)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowLacks current content. Search other databases, including multi-subject databases below for the most recent articles. Provides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Covers most journals from inception through 2006. Does not provide access to current issues.
- Historical abstracts This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic (citation only) database to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in the database "America: History and Life"). Indexes the journal and book literature.
- ABSEES (American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies)Covers English-language scholarship on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. Contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books and book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government documents.
- Project MuseA searchable database that provides online access to current issues of selected scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. A list of the journals contained in this database can be found at the Project Muse homepage.
Find Articles: Multi-Subject Databases
These multi-subject databases include content on Russian literature. Since these databases include content from semi-analytical (The Economist, Harper's, Time, etc.) and popular magazines (People, Reader's Digest, etc.) as well as scholarly journals, be selective in the sources that you cite in your term paper.
FYI: ABSEES, Historical Abstracts, and Academic Search Premier can all be searched simultaneously.
Click INFO buttons below for details about databases.
- Academic Search PremierContains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,200 journals, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles. Find scholarly journals, popular sources, and more.
- Expanded Academic ASAPProvides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly and general interest journals embracing all academic disciplines.
- ProQuest research library This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database available through the ProQuest online system. It indexes and abstracts general interest magazines and scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. The database includes more than 3820 titles -- over 2550 in full text -- from 1971 forward.
- Academic OneFileAcademic OneFile provides access to peer-reviewed full-text articles in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, theology, literature, and other subjects.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides access to articles in the journal "Russian Literature." A few other journals in the database include a smattering of content on Russian literature.
Citation Linker
Got citations?
Go to Citation Linker and type in the article citation. The system will attempt to locate an e-copy. If nothing comes up, search the Library Catalog for the title of the journal, then, check the holdings to see whether KU Libraries has the print volume, and issue that you need. If KU doesn't have it, you can request the article through Interlibrary Loan.