How to Search Tutorials
- Picking Your TopicThis video explains the research process and provides effective strategies for producing a robust research topic.
- Search TipsThese short videos show how to use search terms effectively.
- Read It, Save It, Cite ItThese videos show you how to access and save articles.
Finding Patents
- Espacenet This link opens in a new windowProvides access to worldwide patent information. Patents by member states of the European Patent Office and the World Intellectual Property Organization are included. Years of coverage and availability of full text and images vary by country.
- Patent full-text and full-page image databases This link opens in a new windowDatabases of U.S. patents, including patent grants (full text since 1976, full-page images since 1790) and patent applications (published since 15 March 2001).
Recommended Databases for Finding Articles
- ACS publications This link opens in a new windowProvides online full-text access to journals published by the American Chemical Society contained in two databases: ACS Web editions; and ACS Journal archives.
- Analytical Abstractsa literature updating service keeping you informed of the latest developments in analytical science. Covering a wide range of literature sources from 1980 to the present day, Analytical Abstracts includes details of the most relevant literature presented as individual records that are easily searchable by analyte, matrix, technique and subject area.
- Applied science & technology abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracts from 1983 to the present for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications.
- Catalysts & Catalysed ReactionsIncludes graphical abstracts of new developments in catalysis research. A Royal Society of Chemistry index.
- Methods in Organic SynthesisIncludes graphical abstracts of new synthetic advances.
- Natural Product UpdatesIncludes graphical abstracts of new developments in natural product chemistry. A Royal Society of Chemistry index.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowJournal citations and abstracts collected from the life sciences literature from 1947 to the present. Over 4,800 journals are indexed in the areas of clinical medicine, biomedicine, and health care.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides citation access to books and over 2,000 journals published by Elsevier in the following disciplines: science, technology, medicine, and social sciences. Full-text content is available to most of the journal titles 1995 to the present. This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the KU Medical Center.
- SciFinder-nSciFinder-n is the new SciFinder platform, which will take the place of the older platform in mid-2021. It is the most comprehensive database for the chemical literature, searchable by topic, author, substances by name or CAS Registry Number, OR use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions. It is a core research tool for chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, nanotechnology, physics, environmental science and other science and engineering disciplines. Registration is required. NOTE: If you have an active SciFinder registration, it is not necessary to register again for SciFinder-n; the same username will work for both products. For guides and tutorials, see https://www.cas.org/support/training/scifinder-n.
This resource is being supported through collaborative efforts between the KU Libraries and the School of Pharmacy. - Web of science This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts citations in research journals across the disciplinary spectrum. Online version of: Arts and humanities citation index (1975-present); Science citation index (1900-present); and Social sciences citation index (1956-present).
Ask a Librarian
We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.