About
News in Eastern Europe & Central Asia
REMEMBER! When researching current events from media coverage, it is important to consider any biases among sources. Try to find stories and articles from different news sources, media genres, and countries in order to better understand the global perspectives on any news topic.
You can find more on the ethics and best practices of news and media research in Bob Franklin and Matt Carlson's Journalists, Sources, and Credibility. Click on the book image to get it at KU!
Online News / Portals
Online News/Portals
- Radio Free Europe / Radio Liberty (RFE/RL)Reports the news in 21 countries and 28 languages (including Iran, Iraq, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Russia, etc.) where a free press is banned by the government or not fully established. Provides the ground coverage of what many people cannot get locally: uncensored news, responsible discussion, and open debate.
- Transitions OnlineTransitions Online (TOL) is a media development organization and online journal covering news and events in the 29 post-Communist countries of Eastern Europe, Central Europe, South Eastern Europe, Russia, the Baltics, the Caucasus,and Central Asia. It was founded in the Czech Republic in 1999.
- Johnson's Russia List (English)Johnson's Russia List is a collection of articles about Russia from news sources all over the world. Articles are selected (then translated, if necessary), distributed twice daily via the JRL listserve, and later posted online. Topics include the arts, humanities, culture, economics, environment, politics, social problems, and more. JRL provides a snapshot of events, issues, and problems as they unfold and are reported in the Russian press.
- Meduza - The Real Russia TodayRiga-based online newspaper, primarily about Russia. English and Russian versions differ somewhat.
- Russia Beyond the HeadlinesOnline Russian general interest magazine. Sections include: politics, international, business, society, opinion, arts and living, blogs, and multimedia. Published by Rossiyskaya Gazeta.
- Google news This link opens in a new windowGoogle News is a computer-generated news site that aggregates headlines from news sources worldwide and groups similar stories together.
General News Databases
General News Databases
- Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new windowFull text content from thousands of national, international, state, and local newspapers.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to regional, national, and international news up to the last 20 years; full-text company news & financial information; full-text federal, state & international legal materials; full-text and abstracted medical & health information; and general reference sources. Content mostly in English; some vernacular.
- Emerging markets information services (EMIS) This link opens in a new windowIn English; some foreign content. Includes full-text primary news sources, financial data, statistics, and legal information. A multilingual collection of news and information sources about the emerging markets of selected countries in Latin America, Europe, Asia, the Middle East, and North Africa. KU Libraries subscription includes access to the EMIS (Emerging Markets Information Service) product only.
- World news connection This link opens in a new windowNews articles from the local press around the world; translated into English. Content focuses primarily on military, political, environmental, scientific, technical, and social spheres. Covers 1997 - 2013.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) daily reports This link opens in a new windowEnglish translations of news media from around the world (1975-1996). For later coverage use the World News Connection database.
- Wall Street journal (ProQuest access) This link opens in a new windowThe financial newspaper offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance, as well as first rate coverage of hard news. Coverage extends from 1984 to 24 hours ago.
- Wall Street journal (historical) This link opens in a new windowThis historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers, and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time.
REES News Databases
REES News Databases
- Current Digest of the Russian Press (UDB-CD)Weekly selections of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. (Content in English only.)
- CIS and Baltic Periodicals (UDB-CIS)Authoritative periodicals published in the Newly Independent States of the former Soviet Union. Covers Central Asia, the Baltic states, and the Caucasus. Content mostly in Russian, some in English.
- Russian Central Newspapers (UDB-COM)Includes several important English-language newspapers in Moscow and St. Petersburg (Moscow Times, Moscow News, and St. Petersburg Times).
- Ukrainian Publications (UDB-UKR)Publications in Russian, Ukrainian, and English covering a broad range of political, economic, and cultural affairs of Ukraine.