Combining Search Terms - Boolean Searches
Search Strategies
Well-developed SEARCHING SKILLS are at the core of good research. Using effective search strategies is vital to finding relevant sources. Selecting appropriate KEYWORDS and using BOOLEAN SEARCHES will greatly improve the quality and focus of your search results, especially while using DATABASES.
This page provides links to handouts, resources and tutorials focused on SEARCHING SKILLS, including keyword and Boolean searching.
- Beginning your Research - Choosing Keywords for your TopicThis worksheet guides students in the process of selecting appropriate keywords to be used as search terms. With a list of appropriate search terms, students can develop a strong search statement or research question.
The Research Process - Picking your Topic
One Perfect Source
Finding Sources
- Test your ability - Primary and Secondary Sources(Ithaca College Library)
- Primary vs. Secondary Sources(Ithaca College Library)
KU Writing Center - Free help
- KU Writing Center
Writers need feedback, sounding boards, and other people to coach and guide them while they compose. That's where the KU Writing Center comes in. It's a place for productive talk about writing, with trained peer consultants to help you brainstorm, draft or edit your writing.
Our home base is in Anschutz Learning Studio, but we also send our consultants to satellite locations around campus called Writer's Roosts.
How to Avoid Plagiarism
- Academic MisconductKU Writing Center
- Avoiding PlagiarismKU Writing Center
- Academic IntegrityKU Writing Center
- Plagiarism & Academic Integrity (Resources from Rutgers University)Rutgers University Libraries
- How to Avoid Plagiarism: An Interactive Literacy TutorialReference Department of the Paul Robeson Library, Rutgers - The State University of New Jersey
MLA Handbook
MLA Handbook by Publication Date: 2021In library use only - Watson & Anschutz libraries.
"The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is a textbook and reference guide that offers student writers and writing instructors guidance on creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements. It features advice on punctuation, grammar, inclusive language, formatting research papers, and in-text citations. Includes an appendix of sample works-cited-list entries, illustrations, and an index"--
- MLA Handbook PlusMLA Handbook Plus is a new, subscription-based digital product providing online access to the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook.
Zotero
- YouTube - Getting Started with Zotero: Using Zotero StandaloneLMU Library, 2013
- How to Select and Use Citation Management Tools - ZoteroThis guide contains information on different tools that will make citing sources in your papers easier.
Preparing an Annotated Bibliography
- How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography(Cornell University Library)
- Writing An Annotated Bibliography(University of Central Florida, Writing Center)
- How to Write Annotated Bibliographies(Memorial University Libraries)