Transportation : Transportation Indexes & Journals

To learn of an article in a journal on a topic that you are researching, you may need to use an index or bibliography. These tools can be searched like the Library Catalog using names, keywords, phrases, word combinations, etc. Different indexes may present the information in a variety of formats so you need to read the page carefully to determine how to proceed. .

Specialized indexes

TRB Publications Index, contains over 50,000 papers, articles, and reports published by the Transportation Research Board, Highway Research Board, Strategic Highway Research Program, or the Marine Board from 1923 to date.

TRID, a newly integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 940,000 records of transportation research worldwide.

Transportation Library at Northwestern University, Use the NUtranlit tab to search for transportation and law enforcement articles, conference proceedings, book chapters and more.

Compendex, a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database referencing engineering journals and conference materials.

General indexes

Academic Search Complete Indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals, with full text for more than 8,750 of those titles, over a broad spectrum of subjects.

JSTOR (To access PDF articles, your browser must allow pop-ups for this site) Provides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities

Transportation Research Thesaurus The TRT is a tool to improve the indexing and retrieval of transportation information. The thesaurus covers all modes and aspects of transportation with the purpose of providing a common and consistent language between producers and users of transportation information.

Journal of Advanced Transportation A peer reviewed international journal in the general areas of transportation, engineering, transportation networks, transportation planning and transportation systems analysis.

Journal of Public Transportation Published by the National Center for Transit Research at the Center for Urban Transportation Research at the University of South Florida.

Journal of Transport and Land Use An open access, peer reviewed journal that publishes inter-disciplinary papers on the interaction of transport and land use.

Journal of Transportation Engineering Published by ACSE, a journal with technical and professional articles on the planning, design, construction, maintenance, and operation of air, highway, rail, and urban transportation.

  Mass Transit A trade publication that addresses mass transit for the management practitioner.

Transportation Focuses on issues of relevance to the formulation of policy, the preparation and evaluation of plans, and the day-to-day operational management of transport systems.

Transportation Journal Published quarterly by the American Society of Transportation and Logistics to disseminate research findings and original writings on transportation, logistics, and related fields.

Transportation Research. Part A, Policy and Practice; Part B Methological; Part C Emerging Technologies; Part D Transport & Environment; Part E Logistics & Transportation Review; Part F Traffic Psychology & Behavior