Lawrence Art Resources
Spencer Museum of Art Located on the KU Lawrence campus. Wander through the exhibitions and collections, make an appointment in the print room, or attend an artist talk or film viewing.
Lawrence Arts Center The Arts Center offers classes, workshops, and gallery exhibits. They also host an artist-in-residence.
Kansas City Area Art Museums & Galleries
Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art The Kemper is a great place to learn about contemporary art, located in Kansas City, Missouri. The Kemper frequently gives free artists lectures and art discussions, a great resource for art students.
Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art In nearby Kansas City, Missouri, the Nelson-Atkins is an excellent place to look at major, important pieces of art. Their collections include art from around the world, with particularly good Asian and African collections.
H&R Block Artspace Located at the Kansas City Art Insititute, the Artspace supports the creation, presentation and appreciation of important contemporary art and visual art education.
Belger Arts Center Located in downtown Kansas City, the Belger has a permanent collection, a program of exhibitions, and a commitment to use the facility to partner with other art-related organizations for their art related events.
Nerman Museum of Contemporary Art The Nerman is the newest museum in the area, opened in 2007. Located on the Johnson County Community College campus in Overland Park, KS. It is a great place to see regional and new artwork.
Albrecht-Kemper Museum of Art Located in St. Joseph, MO with a fine collection of 18th-21st-century art.
Northern Arkansas
Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art Located in Bentonville, AR, the building was designed by Moshe Safdie and opened in 2011. The collection features painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, and installation art by artists of the United States.
Other Kansas Art Museums, Galleries & Centers
Marianna Kistler Beach Museum of Art Located at Kansas State University in Manhattan the museum collects, cares for, and interprets the visual art of Kansas and the region.
Mulvane Art Museum Located in Topeka on the campus of Washburn Univ. The permanent collection is national and international in scope and is also well represented with Kansas and regional artist.
Alice C. Sabatini Gallery Located within the Topeka and Shawnee County Public Library in Topeka, this exhibition space hosts traveling exhibitions, invitational exhibits, competitive exhibitions, as well as exhibitions developed from the Library's permanent collections.
Walker Art Collection. Located adjacent to the Garnett Public Library at 125 W. 4th Avenue in Garnett, this collection of mostly early 20th century American paintings, sculptures, prints, and drawing include works by John Steuart Curry, Edouard Manet, and Jean Baptiste Corot.
Ulrich Museum of Art Located in Wichita on the campus of Wichita State Univ. Opened in 1974, the gallery space is supplemented by use of the entire campus for the more than 70 sculptures that are part of the Martin H. Bush Outdoor Sculpture Collection.
Wichita Art Museum Located in Wichita, the museum has nearly 7,000 works including a fine collection of American art spanning three centuries and an expanding glass collection.
Wichita Center for the Arts Located in Wichita, the Center offers educational programs in visual and performing arts along with a permanent collection and gallery space.
Salina Art Center Located in Salina, this gallery and education center offers exhibitions, art education, film, and artist-community interaction.
Birger Sandzén Memorial Gallery Located in Lindsborg on the campus of Bethany College. Along with an extensive collection of Sandzen's work, the gallery has paintings by other Kansas artists, a wide-ranging collection of prints, and an active exhibition program.
Grassroots Art Center Located in Lucas, the Center focuses on grassroots, also known as self-taught, naïve art especially those whose work tends toward environments and other cultural arts.