Journalism - Strategic Communication: Business/Industry Information

Business Information - Databases and Websites

Databases

ABI/Inform - Provides abstracts of articles on business and management from U.S. and international professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines, and regional business publications. Full-text articles are available for a significant portion of journals indexed.     

Business Insights: Essentials - Provides business and industry content in the following areas: periodical articles, news articles, and press releases; detailed information for domestic and international companies and associations, including information on corporate hierarchical structures; investment reports; corporate chronologies and company histories; brands and product information; industry and company rankings; financial overviews; industry overviews; HR Law Case Digests.                   

Business Source Complete - This database provides full text from more than 7,400 scholarly business journals (over 1,100 are peer-reviewed) and periodicals covering management economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top business journals and is particularly strong in both management and marketing, including Harvard Business Review and California Management Review. The database also holds country economic reports from the EIU, DRI-WEFA, ICON Group and CountryWatch. Business Source Premier contains expanded indexing and abstract backfiles for 300 top scholarly business journals dating back to 1965, or the first issue published (whichever is more recent). 

Corporate Affiliations - This database allows the user to research corporate hierarchies ("who owns whom") to the seventh level of reporting relationships, starting with as little information as a brand name. The Directory of Corporate Affiliations(tm) database covers more than 200,000 of the most prominent U.S. and international public and private businesses and includes information about parent companies, affiliates, subsidiaries, and divisions worldwide to help you research corporate ownership. (Restricted to 1 simultaneous user.)

Passport - A global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys, and breaking news on industries, countries, and consumers worldwide. Access to this this resource requires you to login with your KU online ID and password and to then click Agree to the terms of use presented by Euromonitor.

Marketshare Reporter - Market Share Reporter presents comparative business statistics in a clear, straightforward manner, providing a detailed overview of international companies, products and services. Market Share Reporter includes more than 2,000 entries on a wide range of topics, from global positioning systems to laboratory equipment. Entries typically include: a description (e.g., “Best Selling Digital Music Genres”); a summary of the size of the market; a breakdown of market share by percentage; complete source citation; subject categories; SIC and NAICS code(s). Historical data allows researchers to quickly track market trends over time, providing invaluable insight into virtually any industry. Dates of coverage: 1991 to present.    

Plunkett Research Online - Plunkett Research Online provides industry analysis, company profiles and market research information for over 30 industries.   

Pop Culture Universe - An authoritative, digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present--in a package as dynamic as the topic it covers.     

RedBooks.com - The Advertising Red Books provide competitive intelligence and prospecting data to media companies, advertising agencies, manufacturers, advertising services and suppliers about the advertising industry. Within this product, the Advertiser Database contains information on nearly 18,000 U.S. and international advertisers who each spend more than $200,000 annually on advertising. The Agency Database provides profiles of nearly 14,000 U.S. and international agencies, including accounts represented by each agency, fields of specialization, and more. (Restricted to 1 simultaneous user.) Please click on SIGN OFF when done searching.   

Standard & Poor's Net Advantage - NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information that offers online access to Standard & Poor's research-related products such as industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Outlook, mutual fund reports and more. NetAdvantage offers screening tools, private company information, and the ability to download data into spreadsheet programs for further analysis. Dates of coverage: Current with some older information (back to 4 years).                    

Value Line Research Center - The Value Line Research Center includes on-line access to Value Line's leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks. This service includes full subscriptions to: The Value Line Investment Survey; The Value Line Investment Survey - Small and Mid-Cap Edition; The Value Line Mutual Fund Survey; The Value Line Daily Options Survey; The Value Line Special Situations Service; The Value Line Convertibles Survey; and Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs). In addition, please note the Historical Report Lookup function can access previous Selection & Opinion and both Standard and Expanded Summary & Index reports by symbol or Issue for the period January 1997 to the present. NOTE: At the "Welcome" screen, click on the first "here" to access the database. 

 

Websites

Annual Report Gallery 

Business Data and Statistics

Current Industrial Reports

EDGAR

Industry portals/Industry hubs 

Library of Congress/Business Reference Services/ Guide to Industry Research

US Census Bureau

US Department of Labor. Bureau of Labor Statistics 

US Securities and Exchange Commission

Wall Street Journal Market Data Center 

Research Help

We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.