Journalism - Strategic Communication: Media Resources

Media Resources - Databases, Websites, Newspapers, Electronic Journals

Databases

ABI/Inform - Provides abstracts of articles on business and management from U.S. and international professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines, and regional business publications. Full-text articles are available for a significant portion of journals indexed.

Business Source Complete - This database provides full text from more than 7,400 scholarly business journals (over 1,100 are peer-reviewed) and periodicals covering management economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top business journals and is particularly strong in both management and marketing, including Harvard Business Review and California Management Review. The database also holds country economic reports from the EIU, DRI-WEFA, ICON Group and CountryWatch.    

Regional Business News -  Regional business news incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for these regional business publications.     

             

Websites

Newsletter Access

 

Newspapers

America's News -  America's Newspapers is a dynamic collection of full-text online local and national newspapers from all 50 states. Coverage of each newspaper varies. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. Paid ads are excluded. Selective access is included to Lawrence Journal World and the Kansas City Star.

Ethnic Newswatch - Provides full text access to articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America. Searchable in English and Spanish.      

InfoTrac Newsstand - Contains full text content from thousands of national, international, state and local newspapers. Dates of coverage: 1980 to present.

LexisNexis Academic - Provides access to: full-text of current news and up to the last 20 years; full-text company news & financial information; full-text federal, state & international legal materials; full-text and abstracted medical & health information; general reference sources.

Wall Street Journal - The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news. Coverage extends from 1984 to 24 hours ago.                                     

World News Connection - Provides timely and pertinent open-source material from non-U.S. media sources. Material provided to the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) by analysts from the Open Source Center's (OSC) domestic and overseas bureaus. Successor to the daily reports from the Foreign Broadcasting Information Service (FBIS) and reports from the Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) . Content focuses primarily on military, political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and is compiled from non-U.S. media sources.

Electronic Journals

Advertising Age - Trade publication. Reports on all aspects of advertising, including interactive media, marketing research, sales promotion, and brand management.

Advertising Forecast - Academic/Scholarly. Publishes diverse points of view about advertising, both pro and con, with the goal of fostering a better understanding about the role of advertising.

Adweek - Trade publication . Articles, news, and product information about the advertising and marketing industry. 

Brandweek – Trade publication. Contains news briefs, trends, new campaigns and promotions, and new product news on marketer/retailer relationships, successful media strategies, agency/client relationships, and global marketing.

Consumption Markets & Culture – Academic/Scholarly. Focuses on consumerism & the markets as the site of social behaviour & discourse.

Entertainment, Media and Advertising Market Research Handbook – Trade publication. Contains information about Sales & Marketing.

European Advertising & Media Forecast - Trade publication. Presents data, forecasts and expert analyses covering advertising expenditures and media developments in 22 countries.

Global Advertising – Trade publication. A resource of information on key vertical markets. This industry profile identifies market size, competitive landscape and provides forecast data of market performance.

International Journal of Advertising - Academic/Scholarly. Aimed at both academics and practitioners. It is international in scope and covers a wide range of advertising and marketing issues, including: advertising technologies, role of the media, market sectors, advertising effectiveness, agency relationships and marketing.

Journal of Advertising - Academic/Scholarly. Contributes to the development of advertising theory and its relationship to advertising practices and processes.

Journal of Advertising Research – Trade publication.  Seeks to act as a research and development tool for professionals in all areas of marketing including media, research, advertising and communications.

Journal of Consumer Culture - Academic/Scholarly.  Publishes debates and explorative articles focusing on modern consumer culture and its globalizing tendencies. The journal will be a central research forum for scholars across the social sciences and humanities.

Journal of Consumer Psychology – Academic/Scholarly.  Publishes original data and theoretical, methodological and review papers on the role of advertising in consumer psychology, the development and change of consumer attitudes, choice and decision processes.

Journal of Consumer Research – Academic/Scholarly.  Focuses on scholarly research aimed at describing and explaining consumer behavior, in the broadest sense of that term.

Journal of Current Issues and Research in Advertising – Trade publication. Aims at advancing state-of-the-art in advertising theory, practice, and current developments. Also features complete reports of original theoretical research.

Journal of Interactive Advertising - Academic/Scholarly.  Designed to promote our understanding of interactive advertising, marketing & communication in a changing world.

Journal of Marketing Communications – Academic/Scholarly.  Devoted to publishing research papers and information articles on all aspects of marketing communications and promotion management.

MediaWeek - Trade publication.  Articles, commentary, interviews, profiles, special reports, advertising layouts, television programming and timely news of note aimed at executives and managers in television, radio, cable and magazines.

Min’s Advertising Report - Trade publication. Contains information on advertising; advertising, marketing and public relations.

Quarterly Survey of Advertising Expenditure - Trade publication.  Provides accurate, up-to-date and detailed analysis of advertising expenditure trends in the UK.

Research Help

We can help with your research questions -- contact us by chat, phone, email, text or at a Research Help desk.