Core Journals
Here are a few journals and magazines that you may want to search individually as you look for information. To locate more journal titles, access the e-journal search tool under "Find" through the library's homepage.
Forbes
Journal of Leisure Research
Journal of Sports Economics
NINE: A Journal of Baseball History and Culture
Sport Management Review
Sport Marketing Quarterly
Sporting Goods Business
Sporting News
Sports Illustrated
Sports Marketing
Street and Smith's Sports Business Journal
Recommended Databases for Finding Articles
Access the library's databases through our homepage under "Find." You can locate databases either by their alphabetical listings or by subject. Below is a sampling of the databases that may be of use to your research. Always read through the database description before using it, and look through the library's complete collection to ensure your research is comprehensive.
Business Insights: Essentials - Provides business and industry content in the following areas: periodical articles, news articles, and press releases; detailed information for domestic and international companies and associations, including information on corporate hierarchical structures; investment reports; corporate chronologies and company histories; brands and product information; industry and company rankings; financial overviews; industry overviews; HR Law Case Digests.
Business Source Complete - This database provides full text from more than 7,400 scholarly business journals (over 1,100 are peer-reviewed) and periodicals covering management economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top business journals and is particularly strong in both management and marketing, including Harvard Business Review and California Management Review. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports from Datamonitor, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Corporate Affiliations - This database allows the user to research corporate hierarchies ("who owns whom") to the seventh level of reporting relationships, starting with as little information as a brand name. The Directory of Corporate Affiliations(tm) database covers more than 200,000 of the most prominent U.S. and international public and private businesses and includes information about parent companies, affiliates, subsidiaries, and divisions worldwide to help you research corporate ownership. (Restricted to 1 simultaneous user.) Please click on SIGN OFF when done searching.
Google Scholar - Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, patents, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Access it through the libraries' website to link directly to the libraries' resources.
Business Journals - Provides access to local business news in Kansas City and 39 other cities around the U.S. with a focus on small and medium-sized businesses. The integrated archival files contain more than 750,000 business news articles published since 1996 in all 40 city business journals. This database provides an exact replica of the weekly newspaper, as well as special publications produced by this company including "Best Places to Work" and the popular "Book of Lists" for each city. Users can download PDFs, or search and print individual articles or pages. Please note that each individual business journal title contained in this database may be searched in the ejournals catalog. Each record contains a URL linking users to that specific journal. Funded by the Johnson County Education and Research Triangle.
Data, analysis and insights on consumer and industrial markets. Click "I Agree" to the Conditions of Use.
Plunkett Research Online - Plunkett Research Online provides industry analysis, company profiles and market research information for over 30 industries.
Proquest Statistical Abstract of the United States (find through the e-journals search)
Culling Census and other government information, the Statistical Abstract provides charts of information about demography, income, labor, industry, public transportation, and weather. Much of this is broken down by major metropolitan cities. If your city is not included, then you can track the information to its original source to discover more relevant information.
Public Administration Abstracts - Indexes essential areas related to public administration, including public administration research, public administration theory.
Social Explorer - An online research tool designed to provide easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Contains over 15,000 thematic and interactive maps, the entire U.S. Census from 1790 to 2000, plus the first 2010 data release. Also includes the American Community Survey through the most current release, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) from 1980 to 2000 with the addition of 2010 and other recent data planned. The RCMS is the most complete census available on religion in the U.S. Restricted to 5 simultaneous users.
SportsDiscus - SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 350 journals dating back to 1985. The SPORTDiscus database also contains full-text and citation information on facilities and equipment. (Restricted to 4 simultaneous users.)
