Slavic Languages and Literatures (SLAV 740): News

Weekly selections of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. Translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal.

Comprehensive coverage of national news, current events, economic developments and cultural events in Russia. Official sources (Rossiiskaia gazeta, Krasnaia zvezda, ITAR-TASS), independent media and partisan publications are all represented on this database, thus offering a wide array of opinions and perspectives. Several English-language newspapers including the notable Moscow Times, widely read by the international community in the Russian capital

Close-up coverage of developments throughout Russia. This database currently includes about 80 regional newspapers plus newspapers dealing with local issues of Moscow and St. Petersburg. Researchers can use this database to quickly access a variety of local news, as well as trace local reactions to national and international events.

The Universal Database of newspapers from the Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, Ukraine, Moldova and Belarus (UDB-EUR) includes important periodicals published in these newly independent states which used to be part of the Soviet Union. The sources are in mostly in Russian, they cover various issues of domestic and international importance.

The Universal Database of Central Asia and Caucasus (UDB-CAC) includes a number of authoritative periodicals published in the Newly Independent States of the former Soviet Union. The sources are mostly in Russian and English and cover various issues of domestic and international importance. AP-Blitz, an information agency, offers its daily newsline, Tajikistan News in Brief. Another important publication from the same region is The Times of Central Asia, a business weekly published in Bishkek (Kyrgyzstan). A notable feature of the database are the journals published by the Center for Economic Research in Tashkent (Uzbekistan). Their content covers critical analytical and statistical data on the economic dynamics of Uzbekistan society, changes in social and economic development of Uzbekistan. The present database is a great reference tool for scholars, businessmen, investors, field experts and students. It contains news, data on state structure, political, legislative, judicial system, indicators on all sectors of economy and more. Many titles have a rich archive going back to 2000.

Publications in Russian, Ukrainian, and English covering a broad range of political, economic, and cultural affairs of Ukraine. Topics include Ukraine's progress along the reform path, the view and positions of various political forces, changes in legislation, ethnic relations, and organizational trends in development of the armed forces. The database also includes news wire reports and other products of Ukrainian news agencies. An integral and unique part of this database is the Ukrainian.

Provides access to: full-text of current news, up to the last 20 years; full-text company news and financial information; full-text federal, state and international legal materials; full-text and abstracted medical and health information; and general reference sources.

Includes full-text primary news sources, financial data, statistics, and legal information. A multilingual collection of news and information sources about the emerging markets of selected countries in Latin America, Europe, Asia, the Middle East, and North Africa. KU Libraries subscription includes access to the EMIS Intelligence product only.

The online source indexes the Foreign Broadcast Information Services (FBIS) Daily Reports, which consist ofEnglish translations of news media (broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government statements) from around the world 1975-1996. For later coverage use the World News Connection database.

World New Connection provides open-source material from non-U.S. media sources 1997-2013. Successor to the daily reports from the Foreign Broadcasting Information Service (FBIS) and reports from the Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS).