About
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Bibliographies, Guides, etc.
NOTE: For an extensive compilation of encyclopedias, dictionaries, bibliographies, ,and other reference works specific to Slavic Languages & Linguistics, go to the Slavic Virtual Reference Shelf. For reference works specific to Russian Literature click on the Literature tab above.
Online bilingual dictionaries
Online Bilingual Dictionaries
- Multitran - МультитранThe largest and best online bilingual dictionary for Russian and English. Other major languages also available.
- ABBYY LingvoSimilar to Multitran, ABBYY Lingvo is a multi-purpose dictionary that combines translations with examples and contextual usage of lexical items within a clean, user-friendly interface.
Electronic Reference Works in English
Electronic Reference Works in English
Biography
Biography
- Biography and genealogy master index This link opens in a new windowIndexes more than 12.7 million biographical sketches in more than 3,400 volumes and editions of current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world.
- О проекте - Учёные РоссииEncyclopedia of Russian scholars
- Биографические словари РоссииOnline digital bibliography of Russian biographical dictionaries available in the National Library of Russia.
Religion
Encyclopedia of Religion by
Call Number: BL31 .E46 1987 (Watson Library - 1 East Stacks)ISBN: 0029094801Publication Date: 1987Includes detailed sections related to Slavic studies.
Russian Encyclopedias (online)
World Online Encyclopedias (in Russian)
- АкадемикPortal to hundreds of general and specialized online dictionaries and encyclopedias
- ХРОНОС - всемирная история в интернетеKhRONOS is an on-line encyclopedia of Russian History. Organized chronologically by century and decade. Thematic list also provided.
- Онлайн Энциклопедия «Кругосвет»Online world encyclopedia with emphasis on entries related to Russia
- СловопедияCollection of Russian major Russian explanatory and specialized dictionaries of the Russian language
- Энциклопедический словарь (Брокгауз и Эфрон)The definitive Russian encyclopedia of the 19th century. 86 vols.
- Большая Советская Энциклопедия (БСЭ)The third edition of the Great Soviet Encyclopedia, published 1969-1978.
- Словарь русских народных говоровDictionary of Russian vernacular (folk) speech
- РуниверсThe Runivers library of notable historical encyclopedias and dictionaries and other books about Russian history
Russian Encyclopedias (print)
Russian Encyclopedias (Print)
Энциклопедический словарь (Брокгауз и Eфрон) by Call Number: D7610 (Spencer Library: Special Collections)Publication Date: S.-Peterburg, 1890-1904.The definitive Russian encyclopedia of the 19th century (86 vols.).
Русский биографический словарь by Call Number: CT1203 .R7 (Watson Library - 1 East Stacks)Publication Date: S.-Peterburg (-Petrograd): Izdanie Imperatorskago Russkago istoricheskago obshchestva, 1896 - 1918.Definitive biographical dictionary of the Russian empire (up to 1917). 25 volumes.Great Soviet Encyclopedia (English version)
Call Number: AE55 .B62313 (Watson Library - 1 East Stacks)Publication Date: 1973-
Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet History (MERSH) by Call Number: DK14 .M6 (Watson Library-Reference)ISBN: 0875690645Publication Date: 1976-Largest English-language encyclopedia of its kind. Commonly referred to as MERSH. An excellent source for building context in Russian and Soviet studies.
National Bibliographies
National Bibliographies
- National Bibliographies (UIUC)Detailed descriptions of the national bibliographies of countries of REEE. Defines "national bibliography" as a source that attempts to list, as comprehensively as possible, the publications of a particular country during a specific period.
Research & Referece Guides
- Internet Guides for Slavic and East European StudiesProvides links to research libraries, academic departments and research institutes, professional organizations, and other resources relevant to Slavic and Eurasian studies.
- Introduction to Slavic Information Resources [UIUC]Although somewhat outdated, this guide is useful for historical sources. Its pages devoted to the national bibliographies of Slavic and Eurasian countries are unequalled. UIUC LibGuides devoted to Slavic and East European studies provide guidance to current resources.
- REESWebA database of web resources for the Russian and East European area. Functionality includes keyword searching; browse by subject, geographical region, culture, time period; as well as a calendar for Russia & Eastern Europe related event around the world.
- Russian Reference WorksAn online guide to published reference reference sources on Russia. Compiled by Wojciech Zalewski.
- SEELRC WebliographiesProvides links to resources by country. Categories include: language fonts, introductions, mega-sites, language materials, online dictionaries, online media and news, history and culture, government and politics, country studies, country analysis, travel guides, professional organizations and library consortia, universitities and center of study.
- Slavic Studies: A guide to Bibliographies, Encyclopedias, and HandbooksCompiled by Murlin Croucher, this is the best, most exhaustive collection of reference works for Slavic and Eurasian Studies.
- CRL Topic GuidesProvide a list of CRL holdings for particular CRL collections. Include newspapers, official gazettes, and dissertations, of which CRL has rich holdings. Includes 15 guides for Eastern Europe and 15 guides for Russia and the Former Soviet Union.
- Slavic and East European LibraryAn excellent repository of guides and recommended websites for the Slavic and Eurasian area. Arrangement by resource type and by country.