KU Library Catalog
Use the catalog to look for information on the artist or for information on art of the same time period and/or country. Your artist might be mentioned in surveys or histories of the period, so check the index in the back of the appropriate books. Even if your artist is not mentioned, you can learn about art in that time and place and analyze the assigned art work based on what you have learned about art of that time.
KU Catalog, Search collections available in all library locations at the Univ. of Kansas
Other Library Catalogs
WorldCat Includes millions of records describing items owned by OCLC member libraries, including the KU Libraries.
Catalog for the Spencer Art Library at the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art Located in Kansas City, MO, this art research library is open to the public but must be used on-site. The hours are listed on the library website.
Lawrence Public Library in Lawrence, KS Located at 7th & Vermont, this public library has a good art collection.
Articles in Journals
To learn of an article in a journal on a topic that you are researching, you may need to use an index or bibliography. These tools can be searched like the Library Catalog using names, keywords, phrases, word combinations, etc. Different indexes may present the information in a variety of formats so you need to read the page carefully to determine how to proceed. Some indexes will only provide a CITATION to the article while others may provide a full-text version. If there is only a citation, look for the 
symbol to learn if there is a full-text online version, a paper copy in the library, or, if KU does not own, an option to borrow through Interlibrary Loan.
Academic Search Complete Indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals, with full text for more than 8,750 of those titles, over a broad spectrum of subjects.
Wilson OmniFile Full Text Select Provides indexing, abstracting and full-text content to journal articles in a variety of disciplines.
JSTOR (To access PDF articles, your browser must allow pop-ups for this site) Provides image and full-text online access of core academic journals in a variety of disciplines in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Specialized art & anthropology indexes
Art Full Text Indexing and abstracting for 1984- for more than 600 periodicals and 13,000 dissertations; full-text articles from over 300 journals dating from 1995.
ArtBibliographies Modern Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art with an emphasis on 20th & 21st century art.
Bibliography of the History of Art Indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and periodical articles. Also includes the contents of two predecessor art indexes: Répertoire d'Art et d'Archéologie (1973-1989) and International Repertory of the Literature of Art (1975-1989).
Anthropology Plus, Information on ethnographic collections is often found in the anthropological literature rather than in the art literature. This resource combines Anthropological literature from Harvard University with the Anthropological Index, from the Royal Anthropological Institute in the United Kingdom. Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.